Skip to content

Fudge baby brownie bites

December 29, 2009

Hey!  Happy Tuesday!  I did a twenty minute yoga podcast from YogaDownload.com and I’m sitting with a cup of green tea and I’m really excited about what I made last night soooooo here we go!

Long story short, I’ve been dying to make fudge babies since the first time I saw them on a blog.  Don’t remember when that was.  I’m freaking obsessed with Larabars, so I thought it was aaahhh-some.  I promised myself, one day, I would have some babies of my very own.  Fudge babies before real babies.  I like chocolate better for now.

Basically, the only reason I haven’t made these until now is because I am a chronic procrastinator.  Such a chronic procrastinator, that, even though I absolutely love to bake, every time my sorority would have a bakesale, I would hurriedly rush out to the store to pick up a boxed mix the morning of so I would have something to present.

Well.  Now that I’ve fiiiinally made these, I see why everyone and their mother is doing it, and there is officially no excuse for procrastination ever again.  These are easier than boxed cake and brownie mixes, and you don’t have to turn on the oven to make them.  And just like the boxed mixes of my past, I ate half the dough before they were done.  Heeaalllthhyyyy.  Well, in this case, maybe.

Seriously, though, these taste like the real deal.  And by “the real deal,” I mean walnut brownies of course. Fudgy walnut brownies.  The only problem is, my favorite part of brownies is the crispy edge.  I bet I can work this out somehow.

the goods

Basically, I followed Katie‘s prescribed recipe with one minor addition:

  • 1 1/3 cup pitted medjool dates
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 2 tbsp cacao nibs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder

Why cacao nibs?  Because I had them, and I thought they’d add a nice crunch.  And I was watching Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Johnny Depp Wonka was explaining how the Oompa Loompas crave the cocoa bean more than anything and I realized I might be an Oompa Loompa.  I’m short and I like to sing and dance, too.  Hello, it just occurred to me that I’ve known about cacao beans ever since I read Roald Dah’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory way back in third grade.  Anyway.  These came out awesome.  If I were thinking, I probably would have added a touch of sea salt, just because I really like that sweet-salty combo.

The method: So Katie just tosses everything in the processor/magic bullet and whirs til done, but I didn’t do that.  I got a little fancier, like over here.  Why?  I really don’t know.  Just because it looked like fun.  Whatever way floats your boat, go for it.

medjool dates taste just like brown sugar

So I put the dates into the food processor and processed away until it was this really awesome tasting date paste, which I took out and set aside.

honestly, I'd be happy to eat this with a spoon and forget the rest of the recipe

Then I tossed the walnuts and some cacao nibs into the processor, pulsing a few times to chop the walnuts and make everything a little more uniform.

everything in the food processor

I put the date paste, the cocoa powder, and the vanilla into the processor with the nuts and pulsed away until it was combined well.

you can kinda skip this part

I then dumped it into a dish and pressed it down flat like brownies, which was a completely unnecessary step.

I shaped it into little tiny brownie bites (like I said, I really like little things), which I then wrapped in tin foil and stuck in the fridge for safekeeping.

for scale ... sorry for the blur

I’m testing a few other variations…more to come later.

wrapped in foil for a quick getaway

Yesterday I just had a weird day.  I saw a very good friend who I haven’t seen for years, which was awesome, and I had a stellar Pilates class, but I hit a major down at some point last night.  I probably crashed because all I had ingested all day were two soy gingerbread lattes.  Yes, I realize this is problematic, and I realized this as I was going through a down last night.  Then Mr. Boy came over and we ended up talking for a while.  I felt better and got to work making these.  So…today’s another day, and we start again.

Have an awesome day!
Love, La

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 9:53 am

    Ok, you totally cracked me up with the Oompah Loompah comment. And now I have that song in my head.

    You’re so awesome!!

    • December 30, 2009 12:16 am

      YOU’re so awesome! I wouldn’t be doing this without your ingenuity!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

