Skip to content

Somehow, I always forget titles.

March 15, 2010

My current favorite morning activity involves two things: Breakfast and blogs.

A typical morning for me starts when I am clawed awake by one of three hungry beast cats.  I stumble blearily out of bed, down the stairs, feed them a cup of dry kibble, and drag my way back upstairs to my French press, which is like a shining beacon of morning caffeine and hope.

Toss in one or two scoops of coffee grounds (I hide my coffee grounds in a McCann’s steel cut oats can, no one thinks to look there), depending on how bad the morning is feeling,

pour in boiled water, and wait.

Yes, I have an instant hot water faucet.  It is one of many things that makes my kitchen very very convenient to my life.

After five minutes, press and pour.

GIANT HAND, tiny French press

Hello, Gorgeous!

Today’s mug:

This morning was actually a stumble-all-the-way-to-Rite-Aid-for-cat-food-before-coffee morning because I forgot to pick some up last night, and my three little beasts were starving and screaming at me.  Sorry I’m a bad mom, babies!

This morning was also an oatmeal morning.

In the mix: My perennial favorite, steel cut oats (these are Bob’s Red Mill), peanut butter, sliced banana, half an apple (I ate the rest of the apple while I waited for the oats to cook), a drizzle of grade B maple syrup, and cinnamon.  If I don’t eat cinnamon at least two times a day, something is potentially wrong.

While I eat my oats and drink my French pressed coffee, I do the obvious – read blogs and see what everyone else is having for breakfast.  Thank goodness I’m single and home alone – how will I blog over breakfast when I’m married with babies?  Seriously.

So, as I’m reading blogs this morning I thought I would share with ya’ll some fabulous blog giveaways.  Follow the linkage to find out how you can score some awesome foodie swag.

Jaime is giving away Crofter’s Organic Superfruit Spreads!

Averie has an amazing raw cookbook giveaway going on right now!

Michele is giving away organic, raw, wild honey!!

AND Jess is giving away Tropical Traditions Coconut Peanut Butter!  If you enter this one, let Jess know you got the link from me ;)

With that, I’m off to be productive or somthing.  Catch ya’ll later-ish.

PS- they just released the new North American tour dates for Lady Gaga’s tour this summer, and she is playing Madison Square Garden ON MY FUCKING BIRTHDAY!  Now, which organ can I sell…

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 1:36 pm

    Thanks for linking to my giveaway! :-D

    Instant hot water faucet?! Awesomeness! :-D

    And thank you for your kind words on my recent posts – much appreciated!!

    Hugs,
    Michele

    • March 16, 2010 8:34 am

      my hot water faucet is the most necessary item in my kitchen! i use it like a hundred times a day (mostly for a quick cup of tea)

  2. March 15, 2010 1:51 pm

    thanks girl!!! lovely ring!!!

  3. March 15, 2010 2:33 pm

    LADY GAGA IS COMING?!?!?!?!

    I will gladly sell an organ as well!!!!! We can go together!!!! :D

    Lovin’ the oats, btw. :-)

  4. March 15, 2010 3:48 pm

    If I don’t eat cinnamon two times a day, something is seriously wrong.
    Having a shitty on-campus-apartment-kitchen with very limited spices made me realize that you can put cinnamon in almost anything and improve it, hahaha.

  5. March 15, 2010 3:49 pm

    love the step by step. and that mug is awesome!

    • March 16, 2010 8:32 am

      lol I didn’t even realize I was writing a step by step until I was done! thanks!!

  6. March 15, 2010 4:56 pm

    Oh my gaga. You must go. Start a La needs gaga fund…….Ok…name it something that doesn’t sound SCARY!!!

    LOL…. You.Must. Brainstorm. Gah I would die to see her like…live…..

    • March 16, 2010 8:29 am

      guess who opened her bank account and discovered she has enough money for one ticket…. ;)

  7. March 15, 2010 5:03 pm

    I’m obsessed with GAga. My claim to fame is that I saw her in NYC BEFORE she was famous. She was freakin awesome–juming into the crowd. Bad ass

    ps- I own one of those coffee things but never knew how to use it! haha

    • March 16, 2010 8:30 am

      Ahhhh that is so freaking cool I would love to be able to say that – I’m abnormally obsessed!

      Haha glad I could be of help! I love my French press, you should try it out! Just don’t use coffee that’s been ground TOO fine – gritty coffee? no thanks.

  8. March 15, 2010 6:17 pm

    Blogs and breakfast are my morning routine, too :) Best combo there is!

    • March 16, 2010 8:32 am

      seriously. I was trying to remember what I did before, and then I remembered I used to not eat breakfast either. I guess they really do go hand in hand!!

  9. March 15, 2010 9:04 pm

    thanks for the linkage hon AND for the french press tutorial! I have one coming and it was great watching and seeing the press in action!

  10. March 16, 2010 1:09 pm

    Oh, I want to see Gaga soooo badly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

