Skip to content

Sunshine!

March 16, 2010

Spring status today!  I opened all the blinds and let the natural light brighten and warm my house.  It was awesome!  Nice weather makes me want to use a lot of exclamation points!

It was so nice out, I even threw on a skirt to run errands.

Yeah, I’m a scuzzball and threw on a skirt over my workout shirts and sports bra, but who’s counting?

I am still a tid bit off kilter with the daylight savings time thing, mostly thrown off by it staying light out past five PM, but I’m diggin it.

Morning fuel was full of oats and berries:

I restocked on grapefruit last night, and damn am I a happy girl.  In the oat mix: steel cut oats, peanut butter, blackberries, cinnamon, a drizzle of grade B maple.

When I came home for lunch, I really wanted to get in some hip openers before I ate so I would be loose and ready for a bike ride, so I did a hip opening flow from YogaDownload.com.  I had half this Larabar before gettin’ down on the mat:

For some reason, I was super super tight in my hips today.  But!!  I’ve been working on my Half Moon pose and I think I’ve really gotten the hang of it (on the left side anyway).  It was awesome and powerful.

Lunch was also awesome.  It’s just one of those days.  I want to use the word AWESOME a hundred times because my brain is lazy and doesn’t want to come up with any interesting adjectives.  Awesome.

Salad, grapefruit, green and peppermint tea.

This salad was BANGIN’ (not awesome).  Baby spinach topped with carrots, cucumber, organic sprouts, avocado, and grilled asparagus, and the dressing is a simple tehina and lemon juice with pepper and olive oil.

Because my hips still felt tight I decided to skip the bike ride and take a walk around the hood for a bit and run errands.  Picked up bananas, since they were out at the grocery store last night.

Also got to frolic in the sun a bit today.

Stephen came over to enjoy the sunshine in my back yard with me.

We snuck in a shared Green Monster (and some chocolate I didn’t photog)

CEMENT-GREY MONSTER: Banana, frozen spinach, a few blackberries, peanut butter, almond milk, a pathetic last shake of cinnamon.

This was when I discovered the horrible news: I AM OUT OF CINNAMON. I will have to go get some tomorrow.  Oats aren’t oats without cinnamon (unless I make chocolate oats…hmmmmmmm….)

Pilates was one of the best classes I’ve been to in a while.  My triceps are clearly still feeling it from last night, so tonight was killer that way.  We did serious lat and shoulder work, and I’m feeling it all over, which I haven’t been able to say for quite some time.  I’m not sure if I’m pushing myself harder or if it’s the teacher or what but I’m going to keep it up.  Afterwards, I rushed home to quickly make dinner and watch LOST.  I was also really excited about what I made for dinner: Stuffed beet leaves.

I know.  It sounds crazy, right.

This morning while perusing blogs I was inspired by Gina‘s dolma recipe.  Knowing I had a bag of beet greens chillin’ in the fridge, and beet greens can be used exactly the same way as collard greens, the little wheels started turning.

Last week when I bought beets I bought a bunch with this luscious and beautiful greenery attatched.  I chopped it off when I steamed my beets and stashed it in the fridge for later use.

I did the prep on these rolls earlier in the day so I would just be ready to go when I got home from Pilates.   They were a snap to make, because I also already had cooked quinoa in the fridge.  I kind of just did this by eye, sorry I don’t have exact measurements!

I combined quinoa, rasins I’d soaked and drained, toasted pine nuts, chopped sun-dried tomatoes, and some seasonings in a bowl.

I trimmed the collard greens of their stems and put them in a steamer basket for a minute or two, just to soften.

I forgot to take a picture of the rolling process, but basically I placed a little mound of the quinoa mixture in the middle of the leaf and folded and rolled around it.

They were pretty delicious!  I have the leftover quinoa in the fridge, it will probably be lunch or dinner tomorrow.

So, like I said, I sped home from Pilates, got home at 8:51, and was seated with a (hastily thrown together) dinner plate ready to watch Lost.

Carrots, barely-steamed asparagus (I was in a rush!), a blob of hummus, beet-green quinoa rolls, a honey clementine, and green+peppermint tea.  I went back for more carrots and some extra quinoa.

OOof, everything hurts!  I’ll feel great tomorrow but wowie!

I’m feeling super lazy right about now.  Normally  I’d come up with something to say, but nothing;s coming to me.  I think it’s time for chocolate and blog reading.

Here’s a simple question: What is your favorite kind of chocolate? Brand, flavor, whatever.  Tell me about it!  I LOVE chocolate and I’m always looking for new stuff I haven’t tried.

Sweet dreams pups.  I’ll catch ya in the morrow.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:37 pm

    being out of cinnamon: biggest fear in my life. i avoid this potential catastrophe by always keeping 3 jars in the house at any given time. ESSENTIAL. hmm, i don’t have a fave chocolate but one that i had recently and loved was newman’s dark chocolate orange. really good, and i usually don’t like orange in my choc!

    • March 16, 2010 10:48 pm

      I went to pick up more cinnamon tonight and the place only had cinnamon STICKS -not helpful! this is a serious emergency.

  2. March 17, 2010 2:58 am

    OMG you rocked the dolmas, i just love raisins in any kind of filling…good stuff.

    tight hips, it happens some days
    living in a sports bra? it happens to me. every day.

    xoxox

  3. March 17, 2010 6:37 am

    Love those quinoa rolls! And the Key Lime Pie Larabar is definitely one of my favorites. I love plan, super dark chocolate- Lindt 85% is awesome (stole your word) without breaking the bank!

    • March 17, 2010 11:46 am

      yeah Key Lime is a new fave! and I love Lindt, I think their chocolate is amazing!

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 17, 2010 9:22 am

    i’ve never had quinoa for some reason- need to get on that. Those look yummmy and so do the smoothies :) glad you enjoyed the sunshien gorgeous!! im not a big like chocolate eater so i still love my cookies n cream hersheys! lol

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    • March 17, 2010 11:45 am

      Oh man I LOOOOVE cookies&cream hersheys…I used to like to let it melt in my mouth so just the little cookie bits would be left. I don’t know if that’s weird but man that stuff is so good, and I don’t even like white chocolate that much.

    • March 17, 2010 11:49 am

      Also, quinoa is AMAZING. It’s like cous cous and pasta and all kinds of good things all at once, so healthy for you, and can be used in a million different ways. It’s also gluten free if you know someone with gluten intolerances. And it’s Kosher for Passover!!

Trackbacks

  1. Just dates « Love, La

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

