Skip to content

Just dates

March 17, 2010

Gonna be okay…da doot doot just dates…

Yeah, I’m really really ridiculous.

Let’s rewind to this morning so I can show you what I ate.  It’s kind of crazy to me that suddenly I’m doing this.  When I started blogging I had terrible eating habits and was completely uncomfortable sharing my daily food intake with anybody.  Now I’m excited to share what I’ve been eating! I truly attribute it to having this blog – honestly there was no one in my life I could share my eating problems with but through reading blogs I’ve really gotten a great scope of what a healthy lifestyle looks and feels like.  I actually feel different in the months since I’ve started blogging.

Today, I challenged myself by NOT planning ahead what I was going to eat.  Prior to this, I’ve gotten very off track if I don’t plan.  What happened today?  See for yourself:

Since I ran out of cinnamon yesterday, I made myself chocolate oats this morning.

This is my lazy-girl version of oatmeal.  I cook a bunch of plain steel cut oats every few days and keep the leftovers in the fridge, heated over the stove or microwave at will.  Today it was the microwave.

First, I put a blob of peanut butter and my refrigerated oats in a bowl,

slice bananas thinly over the top,

add a splash of water or almond milk,

then nuke for about a minute.  I pull it out of the micro, whip the bananas and the peanut butter up in the oats, dump 2-3 tbsp of cocoa powder over the top, and nuke again for 30 seconds.

Drink my first cup of the day while waiting.

When microed, I stir in the cocoa powder until the oats are nice and chocolatey

then I add my toppings and enjoy.

Today breakfast was chocolate oats with blackberries and bananas, a honey clementine, and coffee.

Today was some damn fine weather.  I wore a skirt and flip flops!  No, I didn’t wear green.  I rocked purple, because spring time makes me feel purple.

Stephen dropped by for lunch again, and we split a bright and veggie-ful salad.

Baby spinach, grilled asparagus, avocado, yellow bell pepper, carrots, cucumber.

Served with an apple and a honey clem.  The salad dressing was tehina, lemon juice, olive oil, and pepper.

We went outside to eat on the porch.  Gorgeous weather, gorgeous food.

Before I went to PIlates I made some date balls, based off of Katie‘s fudge  babies and Averie‘s balls.

In today’s edition of Scenes From The Inside of My Food Processor, I bring you thin mints and pecan pie balls!  Haha, she said balls.

So, into the food processor went these absolutely gorgeous medjool dates, along with some California honey dates my mom brought back from a trip for me.

As usual, pulse away in the ol’ processor until it forms a ball. Ha, she said ball again.

Date paste. Gasm.  This was about the point Stephen came and inquired whether there was peanut butter in the date ball (ha) and I started to sing “JUST DATES” to the tune of (any guesses?) “Just Dance” and he looked at me, rolled his eyes, and walked away.  I know.  I’m ridiculous.  And I didn’t even drink today.

Then I ground up pecans and walnuts into a crumbly mixture. Ha. She said walnuts.  I know, I’m like five years old.

Then I took half the date ball, half the nuts (omg I’m trying so hard), popped it into the processor with liberal sprinklings of cinnamon, and pulsed away.

Did I mention I got more cinnamon?

Not kidding around this time.  I got the big jar.

With the other half of the dates and nuts, I added cacao nibs, cocoa powder, and about a tablespoon of peppermint extract.

When all was done being pulsed, I stuffed the “doughs” into plastic bags and smushed them together.  It’s a really, really, really precise and exact method and you need to do it just so, or it won’t work out, at all.  Reeally.  You have to smush it all together.  It’s difficult.

So when I accomplished that feat, into the fridge went my little baggies to chill for a while, then I rolled and shaped.

Thin mints – these actually have a serious Thin Mint quality in the way they melt in your mouth.  I think it’s the cocoa powder.  I’m considering dipping them in coconut oil chocolate to enhance the thin mint quality even more.

Pecan pie balls – chock full of cinnamon, sweet and nutty just like I want them.  I’m obsessed.

And then into the fridge for safekeeping.

Pilates this week has been AMAZING.  I’m really feeling an incredible stretching burn after every class.  Also, I’ve finally mastered the Open-Legged Rocker, so I’m really excited.

Tonight’s class was so serene and focused for me.  My very first class over six months ago was taken as the sun was setting, and my instructor Spencer prompted us all to “face the sun setting over Manhattan,” and that’s how I knew I was hooked. When I entered the studio tonight, the whole place was filled with that beautiful pink light of the sun just beginning to set, and I knew the class was going to be amazing. Throughout the entire hour, we watched the sun setting over Manhattan.  It was sheer perfection.

After my blissful hour on the mat, I came home to make dinner and chill out.  No getting drunk and dropping a class before a midterm for me this year, sorry to disappoint!

But dinner did NOT disappoint:

Leftover quinoa from yesterday’s beet green dolmas (with sundried tomato, rasins, pine nuts, and spices), grilled asparagus, steamed beet greens, grilled yellow peppers, and carrots.

With marinara+tehina dipping sauce, a grapefruit, and green+peppermint tea.

Dessert? Balls, of course.

I’m working on a new work out playlist.  Does anyone have any fun tunes to recommend? Anything goes!

Hope you all had a green-filled St Patty’s Day!  Since I’m in sweats and in bed, I’m clearly not going out tonight but if you are, I hope you’re having fun, and if you’re not, I hope you’re having fun!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 12:09 am

    love the gaga date reference, two of my favorite things in this world lol. what the hell are california honey dates? i live in CA and have never seen/heard of those!

  2. March 18, 2010 2:23 am

    Love you in the purple dress and flips. That’s standard uniform for me, i wear flips 365/yr. No matter what!
    The blackberries AND choc oats and your quick n dirty method..hell, i dont even cook mine, i just do over night oats like that. I call them brownie protein oats.

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/03/chocolate-brownie-protein-oats-grocery.html

    All the linkage on the balls and recipes, you totally rock. And coconut oil choc would be heavenly on your balls (twss!)

    The date paste nice. And the CA honey dates…oh la la!! yum!

    And the smooshing the dough in the bags and that it’s hard….LOL

    You have totally rocked this post. I think it’s my fave ever, b/c every single thing, I would devour. And that never happens!

    Oh and my french press showed up today!!!! yay!!!!!! i can be like you now!!!!!!!!!!

    • March 18, 2010 9:39 am

      When I was living on the dorms, it was flip flops 24/7/365 even if it was snowing out. Public transit kind of reduces your ability to do that … le sigh… but I’m still the first person to wear flip flops out in public for the year.

      So about chocolate oats, they used to freak me the hell out (chocolate+oatmeal? how would that work?) but one day I tried it because I said, “Well, Averie does it so how bad can it really be?” and…well..it’s awesome.

  3. March 18, 2010 7:39 am

    Ahhh your balls look so good!
    (See, I can sound naughty too ;))

  4. March 18, 2010 8:35 am

    Go run dip those balls in coco chocolate!!!!

    This post was awesome, purple is the new green.

    XOXO

    • March 18, 2010 9:40 am

      Thank you! Purple really is the new green lol – green is my #1 fave color but my wardrobe is mostly purple!

  5. March 18, 2010 11:02 am

    You crack me up!! I feel like I just read a post from my brother or something.

    I love how delicious your “thin mints” look. Would you mind sending me a batch because shockingly enough I do not own a food processor and I will never be able to make these!

    Love your purple outfit…spring is so great, isn’t it?

    • March 18, 2010 11:32 am

      Your brother is the one who was dumping candy out of the pinata from high up, right? If so, I’ll take it!\
      I would LOVE to send you a batch, actually! I’m testing the recipe again and I would be more than happy to send you them. Email me!

  6. March 18, 2010 2:49 pm

    I love your purple dress! And the reheatable oats idea is genius!

    • March 18, 2010 4:32 pm

      I mean it’s a twenty minute difference if I need to cook the oats fresh or pull them out of the fridge and microwave, but it totally saves me on dishes. Laziness is the mother of invention, not genius!

  7. March 18, 2010 7:41 pm

    love your outfit! smokin ;)

    thin mints, huh?

    i’m sold.

  8. March 18, 2010 10:23 pm

    Yay for not planning ahead! I hope you get more and more of these daily victories. :-)
    Man, only you can rock that purple dress….I’ll look like an eggplant in it! That’s actually a gift, so flaunt it, girl! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

