Skip to content

Blossoming

March 18, 2010

Really glad I didn’t scare you away yesterday with all my giggling about balls (teehee).  Seriously though, if I’m laughing while I write the post, how bad can it be?  Apparently you guys liked it too…Thanks :)  Listen, I’m a girl who was raised on South Park and Howard Stern.  I definitely don’t have a stick up my ass all the time (only sometimes…like when people are in my personal space).

So anyway, moving on to my slightly more mature, but not entirely ball-free day….

I’m truly astounded how much eating right affects my life.  I saw a friend tonight whom I haven’t seen in about six weeks, and in those six weeks since I’ve seen her last, I’ve transformed dramatically.  As soon as she saw me, she gasped, “Stop doing Pilates RIGHT NOW, you look so good!”  And I know it’s not that I look good because I look skinny.  I look good because I look healthy.

Today was just another gorgeous New York City day in early spring.  I had a lot of work and writing and reading to do so I didn’t get to be out in the sun as much as I would have liked but I definitely took some time to take a walk around the hood.

One of the windows in my bedroom faces directly East, so when the sun comes up in the morning, it fills my room with sunlight.  Occasionally this bugs the shit out of me.  Today, though, I opened my eyes to the flood of sunlight, smiled, and rolled out of bed to feed my coffee needs.

So, yesterday I looked into my McCann oat coffee can and noticed that not only was I running low but I was completely out of coffee (thankfully I discovered this after I’d had two cups already).

I picked up a bag of Starbucks Kenya, ground for the French press.  Love all the cute boys who work at Starbucks who get flustered when I smile.  It’s awesome.

This stuff is pretty good, but I think I prefer the earthy flavor of the Sumatra I bought last time.

Since yesterday’s lazy-girl chocolate oats used up the last of my leftover oatmeal, I had to cook some more this morning.

For the second time in one morning and in one post, I broke into a new bag.  I’m a little bit concerned about opening all these new things, because Passover is coming up really really soon and I’m going to have to clean house and kitchen of any non-Kosher for Passover items, so I have to be sure to actually use up all this stuff before Passover gets here!

Apparently these aren’t any regular ol’ steel cut oats, but AWARD WINNING steel cut oats.

Well, then, lets hope my breakfast measures up.

Does anyone else have an over-boiling problem when they cook oats?  Every single time, I set them on the flame, I look away for thirty seconds, and I look  back when I hear splashing and hissing and find the pot has overboiled.  Seriously, every single time I cook oats this happens.  Any tips?

For this award winning bowl of oats, I selected an apple and a banana.

Drinking some black gold while I wait for the winning oats to cook.

Ta-daaaa!  A prize-winning bowl of oats, peanut butter, banana, chunks of apple, the last few blackberries, and gratuitous amounts of cinnamon.

Along with the usual suspects, yet another breakfast of champions to fuel yours truly.

Since today’s weather was glorious, it called for another skirt

I really just wanted a green smoothie for breakfast this morning, and honestly I’m thinking I should have gone for it because I wasn’t that hungry when I woke up, and breakfast kept me full for later than I usually eat lunch at.  Next time I’ll listen to my gut.  But, no biggie.  When I finally got to lunch, I knew I wanted one thing, and that thing was a SALAD.

Oh, yeah, this is another day I decided not to plan out my meals.  And by “decided not to” I probably mean “was too lazy to think about it last night.”

Lunch was yet another crowd of familiar faces, a colorful salad, a grapefruit, and peppermint green tea.  As soon as I snapped my photos I knocked the tea all over the grapefruit and had to clean it up.  Surprisingly not a terrible flavor profile, though.

Salad mix: Baby spinach, avocado, cucumber, red pepper, carrots.  Dressed in my favorite salsa+tehina+lime juice.  Used up the last of the salsa on this one.  Note to self: Learn how to make salsa.

It may look pretty, but THIS IS NOT AN EFFECTIVE WAY TO EAT GRAPEFRUIT.  I’m going to stick to my grapefruit spoons from now on.

Later in the afternoon, I still wasn’t feeling too hungry but I wanted to fuel up before Pilates and I’ve had this green monster idea on my mind for a few days, so I tried it out.

A special guest made an appearance for this Green-Eyed monster

Yes, mint!  I’ve been on a serious mint kick, between my mint thins from yesterday, this fresh mint in my fridge, and of course, all the mint tea I’ve been drinking lately.

I’m just obsessed with the fresh and clean flavor of mint, and mint tea is incredibly good for your digestion!  I tend to drink it day-in and day-out, and I have my whole life.

What do we have here?  Since I wans’t that hungry, I didn’t bulk this up too much.  Half a banana, 1/2 c almond milk, 1/2 cup frozen spinach, a handful of fresh mint leaves, and some water to blend.  Next time I’ll add MORE mint, but this was pretty awesome!  I’ve never used almond milk in my smoothies before now and it really makes a huge difference, everything is so much creamier!

Here’s a picture of todays outfit, snapped while drinking said green smoothie.

I know, awkward pic.  Not sure what I’m doin’ up there.  This is just like my outfit from the past two days: American Apparel interlock pencil skirt, which I own in several different colors apparently (since I wear them every day), tucked in tshirt, today American Apparel tye-dyed vneck.  This is my favorite shirt, I have it in three colors, in fact I’m wearing another one earlier in this post.  Uhh, that describes my wardrobe perfectly.  I have a lot of really fun and cool clothes, but mostly I have basic items, over and over in different colors, or when it comes to leggings and tank tops, in the same color.  This t-shirt tucked into a skirt look is kind of my school-and-work uniform, and all other times I’m in sweats and a tank top or leggings and a tshirt.  I also rocked my orange Tori Burch flats and two girls on the bus were drooling over them, which makes me happy in a superficial and girly way.  Hate on me, I like shoes.

My Pilates class was AMAZING.  I really think every class I took this week counted as “the best class I’ve ever taken.”  Every night, I left seeling stronger, energized, powerful, balanced.  As I walked to the studio tonight, I was was revelling in the light of the sun setting over the city, and breathing in the calm spring air.  People around me were smiling.  I felt calm and ready, and I just had this sense that tonight’s class was going to be both powerful and mindful.  And tonight, for the first time, I could literally feel the differences in my body as the exercises progressed.  Usually I’m too focused on the motions or the stretches to recognize how my body has realigned and opened itself until we are prompted to explore our bodies at the end of class, but tonight, I just felt on and good.  I think Pilates really has changed my life.

I met up with a friend after class to catch up and gossip about the men in our lives (she’s married to one of my boyfriend’s fraternity brothers).  I grabbed a cup of Tazo Refresh tea from Starbucks, and we wandered around Austin St., which is a main shopping area, looking at shoes, sweaters, and puppies while I told her about my fears about life and the future and she calmed my nerves by giving me the perspective of a newlywed.

I came home for a disjointed dinner.  I was feeling very relaxed but lazy lazy!  So these are the times when I open up the freezer and toss whatever I can in the toaster.

First it was a slice of millet bread, toasted and topped with mashed avocado and lime, and an apple on the side.

Then my sweet tooth kicked in.

First, another slice of millet toast, this time torn up into little chunks, served with a sliced banana and peanut butter and organic vegan chocolate melted together.

And then a bunch of these.

So I’m about to hit the ol’ Google reader and catch up on your lives but before I go please tell me:

Do you have a uniform or a go-to look? Like I said above, my go-to looks are high-wasted cotton pencil skirts with tshirts tucked in, or leggings and a tshirt, Ugg boots in the winter, ballet flats in the spring and fall, and flip flops any time it gets higher than 65 degrees.  Are you a creature of habit when it comes to dressing yourself?

Are you more of a coffee person or a tea person? Most of my life I’ve been more of a tea person but I’ve always had a soft spot for Starbucks and since I went to Nicaragua last year and fell in love with the flavor and aroma of a fresh brewed pot of freshly roasted beans grown in the backyard, I’ve become somewhat of a coffee lover.  Now I make room for both in your life.  Are you a coffee drinker, a tea drinker, or both?  And what are your favorites?!

Thanks for coming to visit my life!  See you tomorrow!

PS- Does WordPress automatically notify you if someone responds to your comment, or do you have to request notification?  I just want ya’ll to know I do respond to most posts in the comments section – your comments make my day!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 12:43 am

    i’ve still never done pilates!!! i want to though. hey sometimes we gotta sacrifice efficiency for good looks (grapefruit sliceage) and i love your skirt! hmm not sure about wordpress, i’ve wondered the same thign! i like to reply to comments but i am never sure if people receive them!

    • March 19, 2010 12:51 am

      When I decided to take Pilatrs I just Googled “Pilates” and my zip code. The studio I go was actually the first to appear on the search results, but I checked out all the ones that showed up, read the reviews and schedules, and decided where I wanted to go. A lot of places offer free introductory classes! It’s really worth trying out one or two to get the feel of the class, especially if you’ve never gone before.

  2. March 19, 2010 3:38 am

    congrats on the amazing pilates class!

    and your outfits..you are seriously soooo hot! can we date??! haha :) Girl. You look amazing. Work it. Obvi, you are.

    And when i find something i like that suits my lifestyle, i buy it in multiple colors, currently it’s Be Present Mobility Pants and a lifetime ago it was the Express Editor Pants in Tall!

    The coffee. OMG I just pre wrote a post and asked ppl about their fave SBux blend b.c i found them on sale at target for $7 each which is pretty cheap and i am played out on sumatra, dont like brekkie or the lighter blends and dont like French or Espresso b/c they taste dirty. In general i dont even like Sbux coffee blends that much anymore but just got the Joe one. Gonna try it in the a.m. in my shiny new French Press!

    have a great Friday, hottie!!!!!!!!

    • March 19, 2010 10:12 am

      I actually really really like this Kenya blend! Now that I’ve had a second day to taste it and get used to it, I’m sold.
      And hell yeah we can date ;)

  3. Colleen permalink
    March 19, 2010 5:43 am

    Hello! I am a new reader to your blog and I have to tell you – your blog is just great. It is well-written, thoughtful, and witty! My standard “go to” outfits are pretty much the same as yours – esp. the basics in multiple colors. Have a good day!

    • March 19, 2010 8:54 am

      Hi Colleen! Welcome to my blog and thank you SO MUCH for your amazing and sweet comment! I really hope you stay :)

  4. March 19, 2010 9:33 am

    My uniform is pretty much Lucy or Lululemon sweats. At least I stopped wearing my crappy Target sweats, right? One weekends I break out the jeans but for the most part it’s sweats for me.

    I am definitely a tea person…I can’t handle too much caffeine. Sometimes when I’m at a restaurant I’ll order a decaf but otherwise its tea all the way!!

    • March 19, 2010 10:03 am

      no shame in sweats! have definitely spent the better part of the last 5 years in sweats.

  5. March 19, 2010 9:39 am

    i bet those starbux boys look forward to seeing you :) and that happens to me all the time with my stove-top oats. why i do is once it gets to a rolling boil, i turn th eheat down so its not out of control.

    i am neither coffee nor tea. i only ever drink coffee if im in need of a serious jolt in the morning. if i do need coffee, it has to be caramel macchiatto.

    • March 19, 2010 10:04 am

      Yeah, I think I just don’t pay enough attention and that’s how I let it overboil! I’ll watch it next time, thanks for the tip ;)

      Lucky you that you don’t have a coffee habit! When I woke up this morning I knew I couldn’t function unless I got some into my system immediately. It’s so bad!!

  6. March 19, 2010 11:18 pm

    Pencil skirts make me so intensely happy. They work with a woman’s bod. I’m so over all those rompers and shizz that are designed for four year olds.

  7. March 20, 2010 2:47 pm

    Love steel-cut oats! And smoothies. YUM! All the food looks delish.

    I am a HUGE fan of tea – especially herbal teas. Nettle leaf is my all-time favorite. Not so much for its earthy taste, but for how it makes me feel. I love it hot with lemon and a little honey or stevia. And I also love it cold – with lemon, of course. ;-)

    But I love tea blends as well.

    Coffee? I never even drank it ’till my 30’s. I’ve been drinking it off and on for the past few years. I usually never even finish a cup, though. It just isn’t my favorite thing in the world.

    I try to respond to all my comments, too! Yes, they make my day as well. :-D

    Sometimes I forget to subscribe to comment updates, but it’s nice to follow comment threads.

    Hugs,
    Michele

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

