Skip to content

In Honor of Augustus Gloop

December 31, 2009

Ok, I have to admit, the other night when I was watching Charlie and the Chocolate factory, I couldn’t help but but be jealous when Agustus fell into the chocolate river. His mother seemed so concerned but, like, I feel like that would be the ultimate way to go.

Errr…morbid.

In honor of Augustus Gloop not dying by chocolate overconsumption, I had a cup of Cocoa Mayan Spice this morning as I debated whether or not it was worth going out in the snow for groceries.  Well, I’m glad I did.  It wasn’t too cold, so walking outside was actually really energizing.

The grocery goods:

  • Kashi GoLean Crunch
  • Kashi Autumn Wheat (the Kashi cereal was 2/$5 and I looove Kashi)
  • Cheerios
  • Imagine Organic Creamy Tomato Soup
  • Tehina dip
  • beets
  • zukes
  • cukes
  • carrots
  • brussels
  • green grapes
  • pom arils

Loathe as I am to actually pay for someone else to take the pom apart for me, the store didn’t have any whole ones and I was in a rush because of my nail appointment so I didn’t have time to walk to the other store that might.  Same story with the tehina: usually I just like to buy the tehini paste and mix up tehina dressings myself but neither of the closest stores had a jar and I’m really craving that taste so I just grabbed this up.

As I was checking out at the store, the guy behind the counter turned to me and said, “You’re going to make some guy very happy one day.” Um…thanks?

When I got to the nail salon I picked this neutral grey shade called Chinchilly.  My normal nail choices are black, electric blue, and deep red. I like edgy, slightly unexpected colors.  This gray fits the bill perfectly.  When I sat down in the chair, the lady looked at me and said, “Oh, eyebrows too?” so I let her wax my eyebrows…saved me some time and frustration in the mirror.

When I got back from my errands I had half a delicious grapefruit, two slices of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel toasted with Earth Balance, and green tea.

I have to shovel! I’m holding off because I’m hoping it will rain or warm up enough to wash away the snow since I’m home alone now and can’t have my roommate do it for me.  I decided organizing my closet can wait til tomorrow.  I’m going to heat up a room for some yoga, and then relax til its time to get ready.

xoxo, La

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 6:48 pm

    Hi my friend, I read your comment on Heather’s post today and couldnt agree more. I used to be veg. Now am vegan. ALL The time I get called out that some trace ingredient isnt perfectly vegan, i.e. the 11th ingredient of wishbone salad dressing had cheese traces. Sorry people, read your own labels. I love how you said that the once a year you eat meat, people come running at you with their b.s.! I also really am vegan but it’s more to label me for others than label me for me…as other people like/”need” labels but I could care less. Anyway, Im a yoga teacher and post daily bout life with veggies and yoga, saw your last post on yoga download too.

    • January 2, 2010 5:53 pm

      Hi Averie! I’m so glad you stopped by and commented! I’m already a big fan of your blog 🙂

      Happy New Year! I’m choosing this year to officially remove the labels from myself and just live.

Leave a Reply

