Skip to content

Fruits & Veggies

January 3, 2010

While we all just celebrated the new year, on the Jewish calendar, there is another holiday marking the new year.  This holiday, called Rosh Hashana (literally translating to “Head of the Year”) generally falls within the late weeks of September of the early weeks of October.  Rosh Hashana is the holiday during which we celebrate the Creation of the Earth, the Beginning, and therefore it is the start of the Jewish year.  It is considered one of the most important of all Jewish holidays.  I love the High Holidays – there is a certain aura surrounding the days that I assume must be akin to that which surrounds Christmas.  These are the holidays where, even Jews who usually don’t go to synagogue might go, and one of the holidays where we’re definitely expected to sit to a holiday meal with our family, complete with certain traditional holiday foods that we only get to see once a year.

I’m sure I’ll get to all the traditional food of the holiday one day, but let me tell you about my favorite: It is customary to dip apples in honey and eat them together in hopes of a sweet new year.  Challah is also traditionally dipped into honey on Rosh Hashana, and in my family, it’s traditional to dip just about everything in honey for a sweet new year (and when the holiday is over, all the surfaces of your house are sticky).

Well, I went looking for a snack and, spotting an apple in my fruit bowl, I realized it might make the perfect “new year” snack.  Honestly, I had my hand in a bag of cookies and I put them back when I saw the apple because I thought it might be a better choice. It totally was.

apple slices swimming on a fish plate

Toasted cinnamon raisin Ezekiel on the side instead of honey (Challah studded with raisins is a traditional Rosh Hashana food as well)

Here’s to more healthy sweet treats like this in the new year.

Speaking of healthy treats, I put some brussels sprouts in the oven to roast while I folded laundry (neverendinggggg).  Warning: Brussels sprouts ahead

First I rinsed them and patted them dry:

Then I cut off the ends and chopped them into quarters:

Then I tossed them with S&P:

And stuck ’em in the oven to roast at 350 for 50 minutes:

They come out salty and crispy on the outside, soft and slightly sweet inside.  The little leaves on the outside fall off and get crispy and you can eat them like potato chips.  For a grease-phobe like me, these are better than french fries.  I’m gonna try these out on Mr Boy when he gets home.  He has no idea what kind of health food storm he’s in for.

They never even made it onto a serving plate -they are deliciously addictive!  My brother said, “I should probably stop,” and started to walk away.  I giggled and said, “Why?  They’re brussels sprouts!”  Seriously, no oil, no fried, just a little salt and pepper, and green green goodness.

I knew green was my favorite color for a reason 😉

Honestly, I thought these little sprouts were so pretty I wanted to take pictures of them all day but my lens is crappy and my battery was dying, so it kinda got cut short.  I still had plenty to choose from and told myself I had to limit it.  But seriously.  They’re so pretty.  And cute.  Have I mentioned how I love little things?

It’s soooooo c-c-c-cold in my house!  I’m still rocking the same look from this morning, but I added a layer or two.  Hat and scarf necessary.

iPhoto is ma fav toy

I am SO tired!  I feel like it’s so much later than it is, probably because I only got three hours of sleep last night.  Gonna finish up some folding then off to bed for this girl.

Love, La

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 12:39 pm

    I have never tried leaving brussel sprouts in the oven longer… But it sounds good.. having crunchy chips like outside.

  2. January 4, 2010 4:52 pm

    adorable hat and scarf pic! and b/ sprouts are my absolute fave 🙂 great choice of veggie!

Leave a Reply

