Skip to content

I love new toys

January 14, 2010

Look what I got:

That’s right! A juicer.

Fine, sure, it ain’t no Breville.  I can’t just throw the whole fruit in and have amazing juice pour out the end.  But it’s a juicer nonetheless, and I am a sucker for new kitchen toys.  Also, I’m going to be making juice as part of my cleanse diet plan, so I may as well get to practicin’ now:

Ohhh yeah baby.  That would be a bangin’ blend of beet, orange, and cucumber!

This orange was so good I had to hold myself back from eating the whole thing before it got into the juicer.  Whoops.

I’m really excited to make juicing a part of my routine.  Since I have to cut up all the fruits and veggies before I put them in the juicer, I’m thinking my plan of action is going to be to cut up the fruits and veggies the night before so they’re ready-to-juice in the morning.

The only annoying part of juicing is this:

But hey, since I’m messier than the average bear, cleaning up after myself has become one of my favored hobbies.

Yay juice!  Tomorrow I drink juice instead of espresso.  That is my plan. Also, next time I’ll take the picture before I drink it.

OMGaga I forgot to post about my new favorite pre-bedtime snack: Spiced Cocoa Hot Coco!!

Basically, I am obessssedddd with this coconut milk:

Coconut milk, by the way, is not the liquid inside the coconut.  That is commonly referred to as coconut juice, or coconut water.  In Thailand, we loved to get ice cream made from coconut milk.  It was commonly served in a half-coconut shell, with real coconut meat, topped with pistachios or peanuts, and on the side, they would always give us a little cup of the coconut juice from the inside of the coconut. Coconut milk is actually the meat of the coconut, blended with water, in the same way you would make almond milk or any home-made nut milk.  My next experiment is totally going to be to try to make my own coconut milk.

I love this stuff so much.  I’m really not fond of many non-dairy milks, I don’t like the watery taste most rice/nut milks have, and I usually find the flavor of the base distracting.  This unsweetened, unflavored coconut milk is perfect for me.  It’s mild flavored and lends itself well to everything: cereal, oatmeal, smoothies, soup, and on and on and on.

Anyway, I was really craving hot chocolate and then I remembered I bought this Yogi Mayan Cocoa Spice tea a little while back.

I warmed a cup of the coconut milk over medium heat while steeping the above tea bag (label and string removed).  When the milk was hot enough, but not boiling yet, I squeezed the excess out of the tea bag, poured into a mug, and sipped happily:

Is that mug subliminal?  I’ll never tell….

What’s your fave juicing combo?? I’m dying to try every possibility under the sun.  Might take a while…Bring on the juice!

Love, La

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 4:19 pm

    Girl, thank you for your AMAZING and detailed advice about Bangkok. You’ve got me so stoked! To answer your question, we are staying in the city, but thinking about taking day trips. Any good ideas for that?

  2. January 20, 2010 12:46 pm

    That is great that you got a juicer. 🙂 I love mine! One of my favorite combos would be Kale, beet, celery, carrot, granny smith apple, and lime. Your tea misto is FABULOUS! I have een wanting to try that coconut milk.

Leave a Reply

