Skip to content

Stuffed Pancakes & Searching for…

February 1, 2010

I’m back!  And it’s February!  Which means it’s still cold outside, my monthly unlimited Metrocard I bought on New Years expired, LOST begins tomorrow, the Grammy’s have come and gone (ugh don’t even), the Superbowl’s a-comin’ (THE SAINTS!  WHO DEY .. yes…I said “who dey”), and my little bloggie is more than a month old!  Happy February!

I’m feeling GREAT these days!  Doing the January cleanse with Gena was awesome and fun, and I definitely learned a LOT about my body, about my habits and compulsions, and about healthful eating and living.  Over the course of the cleanse, i really had time to evaluate my hangups about my body, about eating, and I’ve come out on the other side feeling motivated, strong, and POSITIVE! Basically, it was exactly what I needed to give myself a kick in the ass and get out of this ridiculous funk I’ve been in.  For most of my life I was a really great Negative Nancy but lately my dominant mental state has geared towards optimism.  I really noticed the change when my computer broke and I neither dissolved into a puddle of mush nor freaked out in some abnormal psychotic fit.  Instead, I shed a few tears, shrugged it off, and figured out something to do about it without dramatics!  Yay me…yay for maturing.  Ha.

In honor of a new month, a new outlook, a return to blogging, a temporary new-to-me computer and the upcoming repair of my MacBaby, I am officially declaring February INSPIRATION MONTH!

You see, I have been an avid reader of blogs for many years, and I’ve always wanted to have one of my own.  Over time, I’ve tried on various guises and attempted to concieve of a direction I thought would be compelling and interesting, both to myself and to readers.  Honestly, none of those personas really “fit” me.  So I kind of started this blog and decided I would do what I always do: I figured I would just write and eventually my direction would come to me.

Confession time: I quickly discovered that it’s not just that easy. What the hell could I write that would possibly be interesting to anyone? I’m just your typical boring quarter-life-crisis New York City dweller with a heavy vegetarian habit. I try hard enough at it that I don’t just try everything, and I don’t have enough will-power to fully devote to being vegan (yet). I’m not a raw foodist. I don’t cook amazing, creative, nutritious meals for my adorable kids. Hell, I don’t have kids. I don’t train regularly and I’m not studying to be a nutritionist. I don’t have an awesome job (or any job, for that matter). I’m not a trained pastry chef , trained cook, physical trainer. I’m just your typical unemployed post-college semi-confused youngish person living in New York City freaking out about the future and wondering how to adequately take hold of all that the world has to afford to her. But, I’ve been inspired by the above women and more to take control of my life through developing healthy eating, fitness, attitude, and living habits, and I’m using this blog to track that journey.

So, this month, I will be searching for positive, healthy inspiration on a daily basis from the blogosphere, from my friends and people around me, and anything else that crosses my path and actively incorporating it in my life, and blogging about it right here!

For my first Inspiration Month post, I am thrilled to post my Tropical Stuffed Pancakes!

This past Friday, the fantastic Heather asked her readers for their favorite pancake tips, which reminded me of my favorite kind of pancake: Stuffed pancakes!  Hello, what could be better than biting into pancake-y goodness to be met with a mouthful of delicious fruity filling?  Not much, really.  In this version, I used coconut yogurt in place of the traditional egg-and-oil in a regular pancake recpie.  I love the texture yogurt adds to pancakes!  It makes them taste creamier and richer, somehow.  I originally got the idea to use yogurt when I saw Giada make pancakes with ricotta (I know, how does one thing lead to the other), and I had a container of plain So Delicious Coconut yogurt just waiting to be used.  The coconut inspired me to use tropical fruit (kiwi) in the filling, and yep I’m glad I did!

This recipe makes a basic pancake batter.  The mixture it yields is thick and creamy, yet still fluffy… It tasted completely luxurious but is also extremely healthy because coconut is insanely good for you!

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 container So Delicious coconut yogurt
  • 2 tbsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1tbsp agave
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups water

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt.  Stir in yogurt, agave, and water.  If you are looking for a thicker, fluffier pancake, use less water.  If you want a thinner batter or you want to make stuffed pancakes, use more water.  Set aside for a few minutes while you heat the griddle and put together your filling.

For the filling, in a small bowl, stir together:

  • 2 tbsp persimmon jam
  • 2 kiwis, diced
  • 2 tbsp chopped pecans
  • 1/2 tsp fresh grated ginger

Working quickly on a greased griddle pan heated to medium low, pour a small amount of pancake batter into desired shape and size.  You may need to help it into shape with the back of a spoon because the yogurt makes this batter kind of thick.

Place a small amount of filling in the center of the batter.

Cover the filling and the top of the pancake with another thin layer of pancake batter (again, quickly so the bottom layer doesn’t cook to much and dry out!).

When the first side is done cooking, flip and cook on the other side until both sides are golden brown.  Repeat with rest of batter.

I tried to make a big one, but it didn’t really work out.

I ate this one as “quality control.”

Then, devour!  Well, honestly I suggest letting them cool a bit before digging in because the fruit can get really hot inside (speaking from experience here).  I topped mine with more filling and ate them with a side of clems and Tazo Zen green tea.

In other news, I can’t believe I actually won a yoga mat carrier from the lovely Shannon at The Daily Balance!  AAAAHH! I totally needed one, so again, thank you thank you THANK YOU SO MUCH, Shannon!

(source)

Oh, and yes, I DIED last night during Gaga& Elton John!  My #1 preferred genre of music is classic rock, and Sir Elton John has topped my list of favorites since before I could read, and you may not have noticed but I kind of like Lady Gaga, so to watch the two of them on stage, playing two of my favorite ballads on the piano face-to-face, was beyond incredible.  Is it just me, or was that Gaga’s stage and EJ was just an amazing accompanist?  It’s like he fit himself into her show.  Maybe something about them being covered in ash and dirt…It just seems more Gaga than Sir Elton, but like I said, this might just be me.

And hello!  That piano is INSANE!

My boyfriend is away on business this week, so I’m missing him 😦 Before he left, he took me for a manicure last night, and yes, he got one too.  I love a manly man who can get a manicure.  The girl kept telling him he has soft hands…which he does.  Heh.

He gave me the ring too...he has good taste!

I picked this very pale neutral color, can’t remember what it’s called but it looked grey in the bottle and I’ve been loving grey lately so I went with it.  My roommate is in shock that I keep picking neutrals, since there was a time when I rocked neon purple for about a month solid.  Yep.

Now I’m reading blogs and getting ready to watch Ugly Betty in bed.  I just started watching this show, and I am OBSESSED!  I am halfway through the second season.  Of course, it has to get cancelled just in time for me to start liking it.  Whatever, I’m only watching it to keep myself distracted until and between Lost.  WHICH IS TOMORROW!

There are a lot of exclamation points in this post.  I must be getting tired.  Catch ya later lovelies!  Glad to be back!

PS: (Edited to add) Someone over at the wonderful Turtle Mountain company actually found this post and Twittered my recipe!  Thank you so much!  If anyone does end up making these, I would love to see your results!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 11:33 pm

    I like your blog and your inspiration. The pancakes look good too. Like you, I’m searching for positive healthy inspiration on a daily basis. What types of things did you eat during your cleanse?

    • February 1, 2010 11:52 pm

      Hey! Welcome to my blog! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      My cleanse was focused on using a high raw vegan diet to promote detoxification of the body and enhance energy. Most days, I would start off with a green juice, for lunch eat a huge salad with a simple dressing and a raw soup on the side, and for dinner roasted and fresh veggies alongside quinoa. I plan on blogging about it this week but it was a really good “starter course” for learning about the raw lifestyle. While on the cleanse, I monitored my mood and energy level throughout the day and also how my body responded to the food I put into it. It wasn’t one of those lemonade-fasts or anything like that, for me it was a guided trip through a very clean-eating regimen.

  2. Bonnie permalink
    February 2, 2010 12:54 am

    Your Tropical Stuffed Pancakes have definitely inspired me! Thank you for sharing this crazy-delicious recipe made with all the things I love (that I never would have thought of throwing together in a pancake): kiwi, pecans, ginger, and So Delicious coconut milk yogurt! I love persimmons, too, but where did you find persimmon jam? I’m going to have to track some down, because I definitely want to make these!

    • February 2, 2010 1:04 am

      Ahh thank you so much! You should for sure try it out. The persimmon jam was actually home-made by my mother, so I have no idea if anyone even commercially produces such a thing, but I’m going to look into it because this stuff is really good and I’m gonna want more once it’s gone. I think apricot preserves would make a really good substitution, or really, any jam. Strawberry would probably be killer too.

  3. Bonnie permalink
    February 2, 2010 11:58 am

    Oh, yes, thank you! Strawberry does sound like it would be fabulous, if I can’t find persimmon.

  4. February 6, 2010 7:26 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

  5. February 25, 2010 7:49 pm

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya 🙂

Leave a Reply

