Skip to content

Hippies!

February 3, 2010

Somewhere in my junior year of college I gained the rep of “hippie” in my social circle.  Was it the long curly hair I never brushed or straightened (but always kept meticulously clean)?  Was it the fact that I eschewed bras and underwear with such fervor you would have thought undergarments had done me a personal offense?  Perhaps it was when I tried to claim “tie dye” as my “family tree’s pattern” in my sorority (I’m demanding).

I’m fond of my hippie fashion. And I’m not the only one!  Proenza Schouler made quite a splash this season by sending this updated tie-dyed look strutting down their Spring 2010 RTW runway:

I *will* figure out how to do this myself

I love the brightly modern color scheme and the textures lent to the pieces by the dyeing methods.  Tie dye is bomb as far as I’m concerned, and I’m glad to see one of my favorite fashion houses thinks so too.  And these feel very City Girl in 2010 rather than Stoned at Woodstock 1969.  Forty-one years later.  Things have to change eventually.

So imagine my delight when, perusing one of my favorite style blogs, I see a cute little DIY post on how to make your very own Proenza Schouler lookalike without having to by a low-quality knockoff from any number of stores in the mall that are responsible for producing such things.

Dingdingdingding!  We have a winner!  Inspiration Month 2010 continues with my tie-dyed creations, inspired by the hotties behind PSIMadeThis.com and WhoWhatWear.com, as well as the beautiful minds at Proenza Schouler.

Now, I’m pretty sure I can count on one hand the amount of times I have tie-dyed in my life.  A few months ago at a work event I had to tie-dye t-shirts with the kids I was working with, and I’m pretty sure I had more fun learning how to do it than they had doing it.  After that weekend I ran home and bought some dye, intending to use it right away, but as with all my plans, I got distracted by something else, but I knew one day I would use my dye to bring color to my world.

So today, fueled by black goodness out of my lovely French press, I set out to tie, dip, spray, and pigment any white fabric that got in my way.

About coffee: While I was on the cleanse, I cut out all coffee and caffeine.  Honestly, I didn’t do so hot, and now that the cleanse is over, I’ve brought coffee back into my life, but I’m not concerned about it at all.  Before the cleanse, I was using coffee (re: triple venti soy lattes) as replacements for actual meals, which is completely unhealthy and is a habit I’m still struggling at breaking for good, but I don’t mind having a cup or two of black coffee throughout the day.

There are so many ways to dye!

For this, I used rubber bands to create stripes of fabric.  It was first dipped and then sprayed with more purple to enhance color saturation.  Not going to lie, this one was inspired by a cardigan worn by Mary-Louise Parker in an episode of Weeds once.  I’m still looking for the right cardigan where I can make this happen on.  I’m pretty thrilled with how this one looks.  I ran this one under hot water right after I finished dyeing so the  purple color bled, creating a subtle horizontal gradient stripe throughout the garment.

Dip-dyeing untied fabrics are fun too.  This t-shirt was a favorite of mine left over from my old school, but I thought it could use some color to liven it up a bit.  I dipped the top half in the yellow dye, let it dry a bit, then dipped the bottom half in blue.

This skirt… Why I thought buying a white skirt was at all practical, I cannot tell you.  But I got it on sale for less than $10 and I figured I’d need a white skirt for something one day.  I wore it a handful of times in Thailand, but for me to wear a white skirt is like for me to simply wake up, go to the fridge, and pour whatever dirty, staining liquid I can find handy all over myself.  White and I have a complicated relationship.  It sometimes thinks I’m too messy and sloppy, and I sometimes think it’s too up-tight and high maintenance (yes, I just personified a color).  So this skirt was shown the dip-dye treatment, first into blue, then into pink, then into purple for a lovely saturated gradient finish.

front

Then you have my attempt to do-it-myself the Proenza lookalike.  First, I sprayed the edges of one side of the shirt in blue, then I sprayed the center with pink.  I waited for that to dry, then folded up the middle like a fan and painted dark blue stripes across.  After I let that dry, I repeated the process on the other side.

back

So, there you have it.  Part of my Spring 2010 Urban Hippie line of athletic casuals (if I’m putting this in fashion retail terms…which I apparently am.  How pretentious can I be?).  This project will be repeated again, and soon.  I think I love to tie-dye!  It’s messy, it’s colorful, and when the day is over, I have created “new” clothes from old!  All my favorite things (except chocolate)!

Do you like tie-dye?  Have you ever tie-dyed?  If you have a fun piece of tie-dye in your wardrobe, I would LOVE to see it!  Always searching for my next inspiring moment…

Hope you’re having an awesome Tuesday! I am! After Pilates tonight I’m so pumped to go to my campus and watch Lost! It’s finally here!

This hippie is signing out for now.

PS: Click here to find out how to win VegNews, Newman’s Chocolate, or Sunflower Baking Co. goodies from Kailey in honor of the one year anniversary of SnackFace!  Congrats Kailey!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 11:13 pm

    I think I am IN LOVE!!! That first shirt is amazing…actually I love it all. The inner hippie in me is very happy. Truth be told tie dying has always intimidated me….however you have inspired me to tackle it full force!!

    And don’t even get me started on Proenza….or fashion in any form….talk about love…

    • February 3, 2010 11:47 pm

      Go for it! The best part about tye dye is, it’s really really really hard to mess up because it’s supposed to look organic and blotchy, right? I’m going to be repeating the Proenza experiment again … I’m not in LOVE with the color palate I used this time around but it was just a trial run. And yeah I love the first one too 🙂 I wore it to work out in today. That MIGHT be my favorite tye dye method so far…I’m going to post a how-to very soon!

  2. February 3, 2010 11:15 pm

    Oh and Coffee…ya I went on a coffee meal supplement diet for awhile…finally broke that habit when I decided it wasn’t clean enough to consume….(insert rolling eyes here)

    Now I am working on the everything in moderation bit….and trying to regain control over my body…its tough….but we will make it…. 😉

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 3, 2010 11:25 pm

    im a huge advocate of teh tie dye!! i love your tie dye- real good, seriously!! oh man, loveee coffee but NOT as a meal supplement…bad haha. 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    • February 3, 2010 11:45 pm

      definitely NOT healthy but such an easily enabled habit thanks to an abundance of Starbucks! Now I treat myself to one latte per week if I’ve been really really good. Haha.

  4. February 4, 2010 12:44 am

    Girl I LOVE LOVE LOVE the tie dye action! Seriously, I posted some yoga clothes of mine that are tie dyed and i adore them….too much $ spent when i wish i could do it myself like you do!
    Seriously, sooo cute!

    Coffee. I am 100% on the same page. I do over -use coffee to get thru the day but I swear i am a tired mommy blogger yoga teacher and i just need a pick me up…or more sleep 🙂

    • February 4, 2010 4:44 pm

      It’s super easy! Maybe it can be a project for you and Skylar to do one day 🙂 Honestly, I’ve tie dyed TWICE in my life before this, once at camp when I was four years old and once last summer as a camp counselor. But now I’m obsessed with it!

  5. February 4, 2010 1:02 pm

    So fun girl! I love to tie dye but havent done it in awhile. You totally rocked it though. Looks fab.

    OMG, I could never give up coffee, seriously. It is the love of my life. Not really for the caffine though. I just like the taste of it. I figure I eat as healthy as possible and workout. So if a couple cups of coffee is the worst thing in my life thats not too bad=)

    Have an awesome day!

Trackbacks

  1. Maple-icious! « Love, La

Leave a Reply

