Skip to content

Maple-icious!

February 4, 2010

Happy Thursday! It’s almost the weekend!  Time for me to start thinking up a healthy snack to bring to this Superbowl party I’m going to on Sunday.

Thank you all so much for the feedback on my tie dye post!  I had so much fun doing it that I’m working on a big DIY how-to post, so stay tuned!  Also, some time last night my blog hit 1000 views.  I know it’s not a huge number but it’s a milestone for me, so thank you everybody out there who takes the time to look at my baby!  I truly do appreciate it!

Last week, Lo sent me an awesome package to thank me for sending her my pink dress (and it looks awesome on her).  The box included this Lazy Baker’s Brown Sugar Pecan Shortbread Cookie mix and a jar of PB&Co Mighty Maple.  Yeah, that sucker lasted shorter than  Britney’s first marriage in my hands.  Primary vehicle of consumption?  Spoon. Also awesome with pretzels and chocolate, on waffles, in oatmeal, on sandwiches, but best on a spoon.  I ate it so fast I forgot to take pictures of the jar magically emptying itself.

I am a maple addict!  I love the stuff like you wouldn’t believe.  I like to use it when I roast veggies or to sweeten my oats, or drizzled over waffles and pancakes of course!  And it’s vegan and good for you too!  It boggles the mind.  Delicious and healthy?  Can’t be.  But it’s chock full of trace minerals like zinc and manganese, which are good for your heart! I’ll take it.

So clearly, emptying the jar of Mighty Maple confronted me with a huge dilemma: I wanted more, NOW.

So Inspiration Month 2010 continues with my home-made Maple Pecan Butter!

I’ve never made nut butter before but from what I’ve seen on the blogs, the basic concept is, you put the nuts in a blender or food processor and let it go until the nuts are completely pulverized, the oils release, and you have magic nut butter!  Right?  So that’s basically what I did.

I didn’t have any peanuts in my house so I used pecans instead.  Obviously it a different flavor than peanut butter, but maple+pecan is kind of heavenly, so I certainly ain’t complainin’.  For this first attempt at nut butter, I used a brief list of whole ingredients:

  • 1 cup pecans
  • 2 tbsp grade B maple syrup
  • 1 tsp Kosher salt

So I put the pecans in the processor, pulsed away for a while, add the maple syrup and salt, and processed until smooth.

Et voila!  Maple-pecan butter!  I had to scrape down the sides of the processor a few times but it definitely wasn’t a problem.

excuse the blackberry pics

Be careful, little jar.  You’re probably not going to survive the weekend in this house.

Eaten banana-hammock style topped with cacao nibs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 11:16 pm

    That maple pecan butter be lookin’ DELICIOUS!!! Glad I found your blog 🙂
    Sara

  2. February 5, 2010 1:30 am

    holy lick my screen: banana-hammock style topped with cacao nibs.
    Girl. you rocked it.
    And for just throwing nuts, maple, and grinding, well done.
    Need ideas? vanilla extract, cinnamon, or a squirt of agave = enhanced lickability factors 🙂

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 5, 2010 2:53 pm

    wow , that is awesome i really want to make my own nut butter 🙂 it seems pretty simple!! deliciousss

    xxoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com
    ps- so jeal u tried mighty maple! still ahven’t

Leave a Reply

