Skip to content

BlackBerry and Bok Choy

February 6, 2010

Confession time: I am addicted to my BlackBerry!  Addicted.  So, I just discovered that WordPress actually has a BlackBerry app…so… I decided to use my Berry to document some of the culinary shenanigans that went down in my kitchen recently.

My mom brought over a bag of baby bok choy for me a few days ago.

I decided it would get a Chinese style treatment with some garlic, ginger, and sesame oil.

Meet my wok.  It was a birthday gift from my grandmother for my 22nd birthday, after I called home from Thailand declaring my love for cooking with a wok.

Into the wok went fresh grated ginger, fresh minced garlic, and some olive oil.

Once the oil was warmed and the garlic and ginger starting to smell really good, I put in all my bok choy and tossed to coat.  Then I added a few tablespoons of water, covered the whole thing, and let it steam for a few minutes.

Drizzled the whole thing with a little bit of toasted sesame seed oil.  Get in my mouthhhh:

Also delish served in a whole wheat wrap with salsa, homemade quinoa+bean veggie burgers, and a tiny bit of queso, a sauce made of salsa+tehina+persimmon jam, with a side of beets:

And amazing over quinoa+beets with some parm shaved over the top:

I LOVE LOVE LOVE bok choy!

I’m feeling much better than I was yesterday but I still have a headache.  It’s Saturday night and I’m doing nothing but cleaning up my house and going to bed early so I can wake up early for Pilates!

Off to read your blogs!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 1:02 am

    did you know that bok choy is a Calcium GIANT in the plant world? seriously, it’s soooo good for you and i love it too!
    and i also love beets. an Iron Giant.
    And blackberries, antioxidant city!

    So you made like a Superfoods kind of meal. Without probably trying. And it looks amazing!

    • February 8, 2010 11:58 pm

      Thanks Averie. My mom is *convinced* I’m not getting enough calcium now that I’m cutting back on dairy in my diet and nothing I say convinces her the dark leafies are chock-full of them, so I just Googled it and sent her some info 😉

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 7, 2010 4:18 am

    a wordpress blackberry app?! i must check that out!! all the eats look amazing- loveee the picures! have a good pilates class

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. February 7, 2010 7:53 am

    I’ve always wanted to cook with a wok. your wrap looks amazing as well!

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better. I love Saturdays where I can just relax around the house.

    Enjoy your day,
    Sara

  4. February 8, 2010 12:35 pm

    I didn’t know about the blackberry app

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

