Skip to content

Lee McQueen

February 11, 2010

I’m heartbroken over the tragic news of Alexander McQueen’s death.  A shining star in the fashion world, McQueen’s vision, passion, and ingenuity have captured and inspired me for many years.  At the recent debut of his brilliant spring line, Plato’s Atlantis (videos above and below), I was taken, breathless, by his darkly dramatic imagery and visionary risks.  I distinctly recall thinking, “I can’t wait to see what he does next.”

Artists are often damaged, and it is clear to me now that the artists of the fashion world are not exempt from this darkness.  I am not unfamiliar with darkness, with the desire to self-destruct.  And yet there is beauty in this crazy, fucked up world, and I am sorry that one of our generation’s visionary thinkers, one who has successfully channeled the darkness and beauty to create transcendent entities, has removed himself from the equation permanently.  I cannot begin to imagine the depth of overwhelming emotion which lead him to such a drastic end, but once again, Mr. McQueen, you have managed to inspire me – inspire me to live.

Rest peacefully.  I hope you find in the next world a relief from the pain of this one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 11:12 pm

    i heard about that this morning. i was so sad…. i was working at saks at the time and we decided to put all our alexander mcqueen merchandise out in the middle of our store to honor him. this is so sad! he was such a great designer 😦

    • February 12, 2010 1:09 am

      What a tribute! I really think I’m in shock still…might go pay homage to the man at his store tomorrow.

  2. February 12, 2010 12:09 am

    RIP McQueen 😦 So true what you say about the damaged artists.

Leave a Reply

