Skip to content

Back on the wagon

February 19, 2010

Heyy hey party people!  How’s your morning going so far?  I’m rockin’ out to one of four of my Lady Gaga Pandora stations (listen, they don’t play enough Gaga and I keep skipping through songs to get to Gaga and then they tell me I’ve skipped too many songs so I just make a new station…) So glad to see my Random Thursday post didn’t scare the heck outta ya’ll.  Really loving all your comments!  Oh, and since my papaya is still mostly green I guess I’ll let it ripen a bit more.

So…guess what?

It’s Friday!  Which means that, once again, it’s time for Shabbat!  Tonight is a Shabbat dinner at school hosted by Hillel, the Jewish student organization on my campus, and I’m pretty stoked to go because I honestly haven’t gone to one all year, and some of my friends who graduated last semester are gonna come.  They (ahh, the ambiguous “they”) decided to make the dinner a Chinese New Year theme in honor of, well, the Chinese New Year, meaning they ordered Kosher Chinese food and the executive board of Hillel is going to be wearing “traditional Chinese garb,” whatever that’s supposed to mean haha.  Kiiind of excited – if they ordered from the place I think they ordered from, it’s going to be bangin’.  There’s this one Kosher Chinese restaurant here, Annie Chan’s, that is just amazing – it’s owned by a Chinese woman and her husband, they cook traditional Chinese food, but because they cater to the extensive local Jewish community by only using Kosher products and eliminating things like pork, they run a really lucrative business.  It’s smart!  I don’t eat the meat but it’s not hard to get vegetarian stuff there.  In fact we ordered from Annie Chan’s this week, I still have leftover sesame noodles in the fridge waiting for me.  I have *no idea* what I’m going to wear.  Considering wearing red because of the whole, you know, Chinese luck thing, but I’ll probably end up in my basic black.  I want to wear heels or ballet flats but there’s at least ten inches of melty/frozen snow on the ground and I’ll be walking a mile to and a mile from campus so somehow I feel like that might be a bad idea.   Practicality>style or fashion>function?  Oh, woe is me, the difficult moral dilemmas I face.  Ha.

Woke up motivated this morning and told myself I’ll have breakfast.  I kinda fell off the wagon after the first day (ha) but since I’m the kind of person who believes every day is the chance for another start, well, why not start again today?  It doesn’t have to be something crazy huge, but just something to get me used to eating, like, before noon, and I can build up to it.

Soooo breakfast was an organic orange alongside a piece of millet toast spread with my homemade maple-almond butter (obsessed) and my mom’s homemade strawberry jam, and a cup of black and ginger tea.

I know Gina and Jenna both rave about it, but yeah, here’s my two cents just in case you didn’t already know: Millet bread is aaaaahhhmazing.

Oh and just so you don’t think I’m either gross and reuse the same mug over and over or only own one mug…Well, I have a whole set of the Goofy mugs, plus a Donald and a Minnie in there.  When we went to Disney last year my mom thought it would be a nice gift to buy me a matched set of Goofy mugs.  Honestly, not complaining.  I love them!

Live-action shot of my clean dishwasher, in case you didn’t believe me.

Aaalrighty, time for me to start cleaning up my house because my mom’s going to be here soon and my brother left me a huge mess!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 12:04 pm

    Anytime I visit cold places I am always confused about the whole shoe situation. Other than boots, what are you supposed to wear in the snow? Here in LA, even when its freezing cold we can pretty much wear any shoes because it really isn’t THAT cold.

    Love the collection of Disney mugs! Maya would be so jealous. 🙂

    And Gucci dining room set?? What on earth? That must have cost a small fortune.

    • February 19, 2010 1:05 pm

      True story: It snowed on Wednesday morning. It took me ten minutes to pick out my outfit and 45 minutes to decide on a pair of shoes. It never used to snow here so I’m totally unequipped!

  2. February 19, 2010 12:43 pm

    Hahaha I love the mug collection! We don’t have a “real” set at my house…just a random assortment of ones we’ve collected over the years! I still need to try millet bread! The way everyone raves about it, it sounds delicious 🙂

    • February 19, 2010 1:06 pm

      It’s like insanely good. It just tastes like delicious artisan bread, I feel like. We mostly have a random jumble of assorted mugs and cups – I don’t know why my mom decided we needed a set! But it’s kind of funny. I try to act like an adult and my dishes are from Disney World.

  3. February 19, 2010 2:15 pm

    pandora does that to me ALL the time. you could also use grooveshark. it never kicks you off. last month it told me my 40hrs were up and i either oay or wait til the following month to listen to music. so over it.

    • February 20, 2010 9:46 pm

      Hmmm. I’ve never heard of Grooveshark. I’ll have to check it out! Thanks!

  4. February 19, 2010 3:15 pm

    Girl, just found yo girl and kindaaaa lovin’ how bad-ass you strive to be! And Shabbat sounds baller, hope they have good foooooood 🙂

    • February 20, 2010 9:22 pm

      heyyy! Thanks for stopping by and checking me out! I hope you’ll be back again!

  5. February 19, 2010 11:28 pm

    kosher chinese food: haha! shabbat sounds pretty cool, i’m not jewish but sign me up for that meal! some of my friends attend hillel events on campus and have asked me to tag along, maybe i will go check it out next time! i’m glad you’re a tj maxx girl too :). and my “job” is volunteering, i love it!

    • February 20, 2010 9:48 pm

      When the event comes with “FREE FOOD,” chances are I’ll be there! haha … symptoms of being a broke college student.
      And that is AMAZING volunteer work. I love to volunteer but I don’t know if I have the emotional stamina to volunteer in a hospital. I’m so impressed!

  6. February 20, 2010 12:30 am

    That Millet bread is AMAZING. If you notice it was part of my carb only dinner last night!!! LOL If you haven’t already try the Black Rice China bread. SO delicious, and made by the same company.

    Great thing about starting over is there is really no wrong you can’t make right again.

    😉

    XOXO

    • February 20, 2010 9:49 pm

      I will definitely look for the rice bread next time! I’m completely obsessed with Food for Life bread.

  7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 20, 2010 3:29 pm

    never ahd millet bread. Hope you had an amazing shabbat ❤

    xoxox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    • February 20, 2010 9:50 pm

      omg you MUST try it!! it’s Food for Life brand and it might be the best bread I’ve ever eaten – and I’m a carboholic so that’s seriously saying something

Leave a Reply

