Skip to content

Downtownnn, everything’s waiting for you!

February 23, 2010

cell phone pic of downtown Manhattan while crossing the bridge into NJ

Manhattan is magic.  Somehow, even just seeing the city from a bridge is capable of working wonders on my mood.  Getting off the subway in Manhattan absolutely never fails to perk me up.  Oh, New York.  I love you.

Thank you all so much for your wonderful feedback on my declaration.  I truly, truly mean that.  When I started this blog I had no idea how much it would really affect my life, but reading your comments really helped validate this goal for me.  Some of you commented you think I’m being too hard on myself, and yeah, you’re right, I’m very very good at being too hard on myself, but part of this experiment is about learning how to stop being hard on myself by focusing my energy on positivity.  I know I’m going to frequently return to that post as a reminder to myself to keep positive, but so far, in response to unnamedshittyevent I’m really doing well.  Putting my goal for positivity out into the universe is paying off!

Of course, not an hour after I posted my declaration, I did something which unintentionally jeopardized a relationship that means quite a bit to me.  I felt (feel) absolutely terrible for what I did.  I won’t write about it here because we’ve decided to put it behind us but the fact is, I have such a guilty conscious and I can’t forget when I do something that hurts someone.  Sadly, I am all-too capable of hurting people.  How, in light of my new positive outlook, am I supposed to deal with something negative in my life, especially something negative that I caused?  I actually felt conflicted on that level too – I’m supposed to be consciously making myself feel better but I did something that made me feel horrible!  How do I reconcile the two??   Then I remembered – this isn’t about forcing myself to always be happy, this is about not dwelling in the negative but allowing myself to feel the unhappiness and then allowing myself to move past it. I don’t have to forget what went wrong, I just don’t need to let it control my life.  Blasting dance music as a soundtrack to my life helps.

Soooo…let’s rewind a bit.  I last left you before Shabbat, where I told you I was really excited to go to the Hillel dinner.  Well, I was so excited that I took a nap because I felt a little icky and ended up sleeping too long!  I woke up at 6:30, by which time Shabbat had already started and I was super-late.  I made the executive decision to stay home, and I’m really glad I did.  It’s rare these days that I eat a dinner with my mother and my brother, and this Shabbat they both happened to be at my house, so we ate together.  We served quinoa, salad with tehina and lemon dressing and tons of veggies, beets, and they ate steak as well.  I just had a huge plate of quinoa, salad, and beets.  No problems there.

Saturday morning I woke up and went to synagogue with my mom, and then we went to a family friend’s for lunch.  Maaaan, can she cook!  She made this amazing sweet potato-carrot mash and I think I ate half of the serving dish.  She also served salad, amazing peas with tarragon and lemon (I really didn’t think I liked peas until I tried hers!), lemon-dill rice, green beans, hummus, olives, cous cous, chicken, fish, and of course challah.  I loaded my plate with everything vegetable and went back for more.  Also I exercised moderation in my challah intake.  There’s this one bakery here that makes challah that are basically famous, almost every Shabbat dinner I’ve been to since moving to Queens has began with this amazing bread, and I have lost count of the number of dinners where I ate half the challah and little else – because the bread is so freaking amazing!  This time, I selected one piece at the beginning of the meal and made a pact with myself that I would eat that and only that, so I ate it slowly, dipping it into hummus or my salad dressing, and by the end of the meal I found I hadn’t even finished it because I was busy with the other amazing-tasting stuff!  Yep.

(So, since I am Shomer Shabbat, meaning I observe the laws of the Sabbath, I don’t use electric-powered items, including cameras, so I don’t have any pictures of the food but I wish I did…it’s always gorgeous.)

Sunday, my mom, grandmother and I packed up in the car and braved the journey out of the city into the wilds of suburban New Jersey for my cousin’s bridal shower.  Ohhhhh what a bridal shower. My family is INSANE, and insanely entertaining, and I wouldn’t have it any other way! Of course, it came to my attention that now suddenly I’m one of the oldest unmarried females in the family (lol) so the focus is suddenly on me.  Every woman there wanted to introduce me to their “good looking and talented son” and all my family members wanted to know about my boyfriend.  My grandmother told me I can skip the whole “finding a husband” and we can just throw me a bridal shower and a wedding because she wants to be at my wedding already.  Yeeeeaaaaaahhhhh.  This is gonna get old, reallyreally fast.

of course I'm the only one to notice the camera...how cute is my mom in this? (she's the one hugging me)

that's more like it - typical "me" action shot, going at it on the Berry

I wore this:

with my jacket on

I discovered I’m a slave to American Apparel and Urban Outfitters.  American Apparel pencil skirt and black body suit, grey Urban Outfitter cardigan.

And of course a little Tory Burch (LOVE):

My cousin recieved enough cooking supplies to fill two kitchens, and jeez I’m jealous.  Not so much of the actual marriage thing as of the appliances and cooking utensils.  But I feel kinda cheated.  Where were the sex toys and lingerie?  I guess, as the young one there, it might have been my responsibility… Whoops.

The food was awesome, tons of crudite and mini passed foods like quiche and personal spanakopita, as well as eggplant parm, fish, lasagne, and on (forgot to snap a picture of the real food).  But of course the best part was the dessert:

See those chocolate covered strawberries?  Ohhh you can bet your cute little patootie I was all over that one.

Some more shots of the dessert buffet:

CUPCAKES (sadly looked better than they tasted)

My grandmother’s plate was filled with everything from this dessert buffet and not much else.  Is a sweet tooth hereditary?  I see so much of myself in her!

And of course the adorable party favors:

Boxes of candy wrapped in photos of the lovely couple.

Sorry I’ve been kinda MIA, just busy with running around!  I’ll probably be back later with another post about yesterday and today.  I gotta get ready for life now!

Catch ya’ll later!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 4:18 pm

    What a nice family! My family in Egypt is hugeeeeeeee as well.

    Your grandmother is too funny:)

    And I love your outfit. That skirt is so cute.

    xoxo
    Sara

  2. February 23, 2010 7:37 pm

    TORY BURCH FLATS = <33333!!!!!!! i have them in black with the gold. arent they to die for?! i wear mine all the time 🙂 :).
    amy<3

    • February 24, 2010 3:24 am

      obsessed with them…I also have them in orange suede with gold, but I wear the black ones ALL THE TIME.

  3. February 23, 2010 10:21 pm

    so fun! your mom is GORGEOUS i see where you get it. you guys look like sisters! your g-ma is funny but that could definitely get old quick. the spread looks great, those little spanikopitas and the cupcake tree (too bad they didn’t taste great!) fun time.

  4. February 24, 2010 12:03 am

    Um, the dessert spread at that party would have sent me into a diabetic coma. LOOKS. SO. GOOD. Love your outfit- especially the Tory flats! I love mine 🙂 You and your mom look so much alike. Both gorgeous!

  5. February 24, 2010 2:41 am

    amazing post!
    the cupcakes are artwork and all those desserts. holy hell girl, bring it!

    Your rockin’ pic in the mirror…if your boyf doesnt snap you up soon, someone else will…smokin there girl 🙂

    And your family being entertaining and crazy…mine’s just crazy. LOL

    xoxo

  6. February 24, 2010 10:38 am

    you just tell those family members to chill out. you’re perfectly happy as is. lol. my family is actually the opposite. they dont think getting married too early is essential, since almost the entire clan of girls got married early.

    love the outfit. i just discovered Urban Outfitters on my trip and i love some of their stuff. got a great necklace from them.

Leave a Reply

