Skip to content

Just like Joe…

March 4, 2010

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeey lovelies!  It’s that time of week again…oh yeah, Thursday! My Thursday is off to a pretty great start, how ’bout ya’ll?

When I woke up this morning I had an email from the fabulous Amber, telling me I’d won a free virtual Pilates date with her!  Amber is a Pilates queen and runs a really ingenious Virtual Pilates business which enables her to meet with clients all over the world from anywhere in the world!  Her blog is for sure one of my favorites, and I’m not just saying this because I just won a really cool prize from her.  Pilates, yoga, world travel, healthy living, vegan food?  Yeah, we have absolutely nothing in common at all.  AT ALL.  Sooo… thank you SO MUCH, Amber!  I really can’t wait to get started!  For the rest of you, check out her blog!!  She is chock full of inspiration and ideas to enable you to fully embrace your life.

I figure this is the perfect time to segue into a kind of announcement.  I know I’ve mentioned it a handful of times in passing on the blog, but beginning this summer I will be pursuing my certification as a Pilates instructor!! I’m still in the researching stages, but I have a general idea of where I will be studying and what the certification process entails, so I think I’m somewhere on the right track.

It’s almost strange for me to think that, as my first professional endeavor outside of university, I am embarking on a journey that deviates entirely from anything I ever studied or attempted to learn at all throughout my educational career.  I am completing my course studies in English lit and Jewish Studies (with a concentration on current events and Middle Eastern history).  Up until extremely recently, I felt like I was set on a course of continual education – more classes, an education degree perhaps, Master’s pursuits, Doctoral endeavors… All daunting, yes, but all a part of my “big plan.”  But I had this block.  I absolutely love school, live for learning, thrive in a classroom setting, but for the past year – or so – of my education, the dominant voice in my head kept telling me I need a break! I have been in school, working my ass off, for many years.  In high school, I would often get to school an hour before class started for rehearsals, and stay many hours after for more rehearsals and college-level courses.  I was ON TOP of it, and continually produced generally great work for my academic classes (er…I’m pretending “high school math” and “chemistry” are fictional courses that I didn’t actually take.  Gym, too).  In college, I started off with a super-intense major, ended up switching majors, got bored, and added on another major at the end of my junior year, sealing the deal that I would need at least an extra year in undergrad.  Every semester I took completely full course loads, and on top of that volunteered for on-campus opportunities and held executive positions in many different campus orgs, often more than one at the same time.  I like having a full basket, really, but I felt myself quickly powering down by the end of last Spring semester and knew I needed a change.  This year, I removed myself from dedicated activity in any student organization, although I still attend plenty of events.  This helped a bit but I feel the tugs of something waaayyyy more sinister – oh yeah – senioritis. For the first time in my entire student life, I can’t wait to be finished. To be on to the next thing.

I didn’t know, when I first started doing Pilates, that this would be my next thing.  But an innocent chat with the apprentice trainer at my studio planted a beautiful and strong little seed in my ambitious self, and suddenly things began to make sense.  A few months ago, I felt directionless, kind of bobbing along in the tide of life with no clear sense of which way I was going.  Pilates has captured my mind and my heart, and I am more than confident I am headed boldly in the direction of my own happiness.

So I’ll keep you guys updated on that as things progress!  I’m so so happy and this just feels so right at this point in my life.

Moving on… Breakfast today:

I promise there's oats and nutty goodness under all that cinnamon. I just..really like cinnamon.

Steel cut oats with banana, strawberries, peanut butter, and cinnamon.

Side of Starbucks Sumatra out of the french press.

FYI, this is the fourth day in a row I’m making it a priority to eat breakfast.  The past three days I had fruit.  Today I’m trying oats to see how it makes me feel!

Truffle update: He ate two without realizing they weren’t little balls of fat-and-sugar.  When I pulled the dates out of the cupboard to show him, he proclaimed me to be a genius.  Hehe.  Little does he know.

I am WAY behind on my blog reading!  I’m getting to that now while I eat my breakfast.  I have a yoga and treadmill session in mind for later.  Tonight, the boyfriend is taking me to a screening of Repo Men with Jude Law and Morgan Freeman, which means I’ll be missing my regular Pilates mat class so I want to get in some good core strengthening yoga today to make up for it.

It’s almost the weekend!  SMILE!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 10:28 am

    Hello.

    I like your site and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links.

    Thanks in advance

  2. March 4, 2010 10:36 am

    Yes! So excited to work with you La! We’ll have a blast. It sounds like we have very similar backgrounds. I grew up the same way and needed a break after all my schooling. The pilates industry is incredible. See you soon!

  3. March 4, 2010 10:40 am

    wow girl. exciting on the pilates instructor!! that’s such awesome news!!

    Take care,
    Jessica

  4. March 4, 2010 10:44 am

    Oh I would love to take a pilates class but they are so expensive here in Los Angeles! How cool is a virtual class, I haven’t heard of such a thing before.

    Great job pursuing your pilates certification!! I’m so excited for you. I love that you are doing something so different from traditional academia which you obviously excel in too!

    I only wish I were as good at so many things. 🙂

    • March 4, 2010 11:22 am

      Many studios offer an introductory class free, or at a reduced rate! That’s how I started doing Pilates… Also plenty of gyms have great mat classes, so maybe you have a friend with a gym membership and a guest pass you can hop onto?? Haha I’m obsessed with getting as many people onto the mat as possible. It’s worth a try anyway! I am broker than broke, so I found a place with a reasonable monthly mat class package, which suits me for now but one of these days I’m going to have to start working so I can pay for my Pilates 😉

    • March 4, 2010 12:24 pm

      Oh the french press is something i dont own and want (need!) one esp after drooling over your cuppa coffee there!
      Congrats on the pilates and pursuing it…honestly, i think it’s awesome you’re doing it!!! I too am an overeducated type who yearned to break the ties of higher formal education and although i love all the degrees and such that ihave, i wish i had learned at your age there’s more to life than school…pilates teacher training of course! I think it’s great and you will love it…you’re going to still learn and grow, just in a way that will be much more noursihing and soothing to your soul 🙂

      To Ameena, this link of mine halfway down has ways to score free yoga
      http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/01/yoga-faqs.html
      Apply it all to your quest for free pilates 🙂

      • March 4, 2010 4:52 pm

        French press is so so worth it – sadly my large one broke. This one makes one cup at a time, which is actually a blessing in disguise!

        Thank you so much for the support on the Pilates thing. Seeing you achieve your certification goals is certainly a huge inspiration to me!

  5. March 4, 2010 12:17 pm

    wow, congrats on the decision! ive been exploring other options too way outside of my major. i have that feeling too of serious overload and i really just want school to be over with.

    have fun at the movie!

    • March 4, 2010 1:04 pm

      “serious overload” is right! my boyfriend pointed out to me that these things I love and take so so seriously have been doing nothing but stressing me out lately. it’s not making me happy anymore!

  6. March 4, 2010 12:46 pm

    What exciting news 🙂
    FRENCH PRESSSSSSSSS!!!!! 🙂

  7. March 4, 2010 1:51 pm

    That’s so exciting about becoming a pilates instructor!

    I, myself, am wanting to get personal trainer certified but haven’t yet made a decision about where/when to get that done!

    Though I’m not a coffee drinker, french press always looks so delicious!

  8. March 4, 2010 10:47 pm

    Congrats on the Pilates! So exciting! I know how you feel about school- my parents want me to go straight to grad school after college, but I need a break! It’s great you’re following what you want to do 🙂 Glad the BF liked the dates! Vegan treats can be just as delicious as their sugary counterparts 🙂

  9. March 5, 2010 10:55 am

    yaaaaaaay pilates! im absolutely in love with it. its honestly the only exercise ive ever truly enjoyed. basically what i’m saying is you need to come to bklyn and be my personal pilates instructor, k?

Leave a Reply

