Skip to content

Lunchtime

March 4, 2010

Wooaaah, two posts in one day!  I am so that kind of blogger, who disappears for days at a time then makes up for it with multiple posts in a short span.

Yeah, I know, I suck!

But seriously, I just wanted to say thank you so much for all your support!  My mom thinks I’ve lost my mind for making this sudden, divergent life choice, and while she’s happy I’m happy, I can hear the skepticism when we talk about it.  All of your words only help to reinforce my decision – I know why this is right for me and I’m glad so many of you understand!  Thank you thank you thank you 🙂

I just finished up a 30 minute Detox Yoga Flow from YogaDownload.com (Averie, I added “Meet Me Halfway” to my yoga playlist – great idea! Inspired a whole new playlist).  I was going to get on the treadmill but apparently my boyfriend is a walking sinus infection and I’m beginning to show signs, and, well, running when you can’t breathe just blows! So I did some Pilates work instead – core stabilizing exercises, leg circles, a few planks and shoulder bridges.  It’s the first time I’ve ever really tried it at home, and I kind of liked it.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll make up a series for me to do at home.  I came out of it all shake-y and headache-y, meaning I overdid it on the coffee this morning.  I’m drinking water now to make up for it!

Before yoga, I snacked on half of this PB&J Larabar (I ate the other half last night before Pilates).

Um..forgot to take a picture before I ate it, so here’s the wrapper.

Lunch was fabulous, but simple  because I am starting to feel the sinus infection and have very little appetite.

That would be steamed asparagus, steamed sugar snap peas, baby carrots, toasted millet bread torn up into chunks, marinara sauce mixed with tehina for dipping, and a blood orange with a nice cup of green and peppermint tea on the side.  The whole reason I wanted to post this meal is the marinara+tehina.  I’ve seen a couple of people on other blogs mixing almond butter into their marinara sauce to make it creamy, but my go-to seed/nut paste is tehina, and I’ve been mixing this up and putting it on just about everything for days.  Alternately I like to mix salsa and tehina, sometimes with agave or jam to cut the burn a little.  Famazing.  Tehina is heaven.

For dessert, some chocolate balls.

with a bite missing

x2…for now.  I’m really trying hard to limit my chocolate intake, because  when I track my daily food intake, chocolate often comprises 50% or more of my caloric intake for the day and… well.. Let’s just say not all eating disorders are anorexia, some are chocolate, and I’m trying to fix that about me!  Not that I’ll ever quit chocolate for good, but I’ve struggled in the past with eating chocolate all day for several days at a time instead of real food.  True story.

Anywhose.  After eating and rehydrating, the headache from the end of my yoga sesh is gone, but I’m still feeling a bit shaky.  And since we are both sick, we are rethinking the movie screening tonight.  It’s probably going to turn into a night at home with a marathon of Greek (yep, got my boyfriend watching it), a lot of tea, and vitamin C.  Every time I post in advance about our plans, something happens and they get cancelled.  No more!  I’ll just post about it after.

Any hot plans for the weekend? Since we’re almost there…  I’ve got some good stuff lined up, including a surprise birthday dinner for my dad at an awesome restaurant, as long as this little sniffle and headache doesn’t blossom into a full-blown infection and muddles up everything.

Also, anybody have any tips on how to banish sniffles and sinus pressure? I can’t take it!!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 4, 2010 4:27 pm

    hi hun! just read your other post and CONGRATS. i am glad you figured something out that u wanted to do 🙂 you will be fab! i would take your classes for sure haha. andd lunch looks goood, and no worries about the chocolate..just try to eat a balanced diet- i know u can!
    xoxx
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  2. March 4, 2010 5:48 pm

    congrats!! I can tell that you really are passionate about it. You’ll do great 🙂

    I hear you on the apprehensions from your mom. When I told my parents I wanted to go into business/law , they thought it was a joke. My sister is a pre med major so they always expected me to do something in the medical field. Even now, whenever I talk about college I can sense that they think it’s a bad idea. It is really important to choose something for yourself in the end though.

    Have a great night!

    Sara

  3. March 4, 2010 9:48 pm

    Yay on being a pilates instructor and boo for the sinus. You can try lemon and ginger tea. It helps.

  4. March 4, 2010 10:34 pm

    YAY for figuring out what you want and what makes YOU happy!!!

    I am with ya on the not posting plans, maybe I am silly but I hate talking about certain things until they happen….guess I’m weird like that!!

    BTW totally ordered the jumpsuit. Now let’s pray my boobs fit in it. Seriously…grrr!!!

    XOXO!!!

    Ohhhhh…btw…LOVED your hair!!!

  5. March 4, 2010 10:36 pm

    just read your last post and i am so excited for you! i know you’ll be a GREAT instructor! i’ve never done pilates, don’t shoot me! follow your dreams girl :). and eat asparagus. and breakfast. so glad you’ve been making it a priority the past few days, it’s so important!

  6. March 4, 2010 11:21 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well! I eat hot foods when I have a headcold…the spicy clears things right up! PB&J Laras are one of my favorites!

  7. March 5, 2010 2:36 am

    glad the song suggestion worked for you girl!
    ok thailand that you left me before..i would kill to go! There is a place in thailand phu kan something? sorry it’s been yrs since i reserached it but basically there is fabulous yoga there in addtion to amazing beaches and vibe other yogi friends have told me. i would love to go!

    you said you wanted beach and exploring and hiking…costa rica. i spent 5 weeks there in 2001 getting my 1st round of yoga teacher certifications and although most people stay on the beaten trail, i was WAY off it…and if you like off the beaten trail, check out the guanacaste penisula, i.a. nosara costa rica
    http://www.nosarayoga.com/
    is where i went but just for geography that will put you in the mood 🙂
    sinuses ginger, steam, vitamin c, herbal remedies, water, sleep, zinc, probiotics, feel better soon!
    xo

  8. March 5, 2010 12:35 pm

    So sorry you are feeling sick! You are right that running and sickness just don’t mix well. Try a steam shower and some Theraflu…that is all that works for me, plus a ton of sleep. Oh and I second Averie’s probiotics suggestion. Trader Joe’s has a great one.

    I can so relate on the chocolate, I was out of control! I had to step away, stop buying it, and I cut it out for 2 weeks. Afterwards I was able to eat just a little and be okay and luckily I’ve managed to keep that up.

Leave a Reply

