Skip to content

Just like getting back on a bike

March 7, 2010

Awww you guys!  Thank you so much for all the well-wishes. Really warms my heart 🙂  I’m not back to 100% yet but I’m getting there!  And yes, the size of my tea stash is a little bit ridic.  Anyone have any good tips for organizing tea??  I could use it.

This weekend went something like this:

I should probably clean this up…

I ate a lot of carbs and chocolate, and citrus fruits, and drank a bunch of ginger and peppermint tea. I like the peppermint because it opens up the nasal passages.  I also tried a tea that was a “cold & flu combative” blend of Chinese herbs – stuff like ginger, honeysuckle, white mulberry, fragrant angelica, Chinese mint, Chinese licorice, loranthus, and a whole bunch of other stuff.  I also took a bunch of Sudafed – I’m still drinking the tea and taking the Sudafed now, but at least I got myself feeling better enough to go to dinner with my dad!

I wish I could have taken photographs inside of Spice Market!  All I had was my BlackBerry camera on me, and the lighting was not conducive for BB photography without a flash, and well, the flash is disturbing.  So sadly, the meal is locked into my memory, but omagoshhh it was great!  If you’re ever in New York, I HIGHLY recommend Spice Market.  It’s a HUGE restaurant in an amazing location, and it’s simply beautiful.  The decor is styled after the wooden stalls of the markets in South East Asia, and the food inspired by the street food of South East Asia and served family style.  As a girl who lived off of mostly street food of one South East Asian country for almost two months, I was thrilled.   We kicked it off with awesome ginger margaritas, and then we ordered sooo much food –delicious mushroom egg rolls, salmon and avocado tartare, green papaya salad (my fave!), butternut squash soup, chicken satay skewers, striped bass, char-grilled chicken with kumquat (these last three I didn’t eat), stir-fried asparagus with lotus root and lily bulb, snap peas with shitake and water chestnuts, egg noodles, ginger fried rice, and coconut sticky rice (!!!!), and for dessert Thai Jewels over coconut ice(another fave of mine from Thailand), and an apple cobbler with cinnamon ice cream that was simply to die for.  Yeah, for four people, this was an over-ambitious meal, but everything was absolutely AMAZING.  I ate soooo much and I was sooo full but it was worth it – and even though I didn’t touch the meat I had amazing variety available to me and ate an incredibly, balanced meal.  I’m thrilled.

Here’s a picture I snagged off Google Images to give you an idea of the interior:

(source)

Yeah it was gorg.  And as you can imagine, made me miss Thailand to death!

I also discovered I have nothing appropriate for “Dinner With Dad” – oh how I had to piece together a nice outfit that didn’t make me look like I was hittin up the clubs.  I didn’t really like what I was wearing so I didn’t snap a picture of it.  If you don’t document it, it didn’t happen…so there.

Came home from dinner at 9, was in bed by 10, passed out in front of Pirates of the Caribbean by midnight.  Mmmmm that Johnny Depp.

Woke up this morning and headed to work.  I’m the educational programming assistant for a local Jewish high school education program, and I always have tons of fun with the kids.  They’re really bright and interesting, and it’s exciting to me that they all come to our classes on Sundays because they want to be there, not because they’re being forced to be there (well, 95% of them, anyway).  We always have compelling topics and interesting speakers, and today was no different.  So, it was a good day at work which put me in a good mood.  The only downside is that I may have eaten five brownies for breakfast.  May have.  No concrete affirmation.  I’d like to leave it that way.

When I got out, I realized the weather is absolutely gorgeous today! I’m really hoping this is spring come early, not the annual cock tease that is New York weather in March where it gets super nice for a few days and then suddenly snows and drops below zero again.  But whatever – the weather was so nice it made me want to be outside, so I ran around doing some necessary grocery-and-toiletry shopping, then decided I needed to go on a bike ride.

I made myself one of these:

Weird-colored green smoothie: 1 banana, 3 strawberries, peanut butter, a hell of a lot of cinnamon, and frozen spinach.  I recently reintroduced green smoothies back into my life and I’m not sure why I ever let them go!

After I drank that and cleaned up my kitchen, I hopped on the bike.  Hahahaha – what compelled me to ride my bike is currently evading me.  I have not been on a bike since Martha’s Vineyard when I was like twelve.  But apparently what they say is true – once you get on it, you just know how again.  Yeah, it was a gorgeous day, but I learned a really important lesson: When you’re sick, you shoudn’t exercise. I mean, I’ve heard people say this a hundred bazillion times before but I figured it didn’t apply to me today because I’m almost not sick anymore.  Well, I made it about a mile before my knees started seriously shaking and my heart started pounding too hard, so I turned around and came back.  The mile back was bad!  I came home with a headache and my thighs too tight, so I guess I won’t be repeating this experiment again.  Note to self: Save the bike ride until the cold is gone.  Just as long as the weather stays nice like this, I don’t think I’ll have a problem.

Now I’ve got some spaghetti squash cookin’ in the convection oven:

Can’t wait for this to be done already.  So good!

Alrighty, I’m off to read blogs and fold laundry and clean up around the hizzy (Stephen do not make fun of me for writing that).

Hope ya’ll had amazing weekends!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    March 7, 2010 5:19 pm

    that restauraunt sounds amazing…and that décor is redic!

    Hmmm , maybe a tea drawer? hahhh idk, my parents have an insane amount of tea that’s lieing on our counter right now

    I hope this nice weather stays as well!

    Sara

  2. March 7, 2010 6:18 pm

    Ya spicemarket looks amazeballs. Love. BTW you should see my tea stash, it is beyond. I have put mine in baskets, plastic storage bins, even a tea box. I find what works is not buying endless amounts of tea…of course, I can’t seem to do that…..lol

    XOXO

  3. March 7, 2010 7:43 pm

    I had some spaghetti squash for din, too- yummy! Glad you had fun on your date with dad. I’m DYING to try Spice Market, so I’m glad you give it a rave review! Have a great night and keep feeling better!

  4. March 7, 2010 11:36 pm

    omg WOW that place looks awesome!!!!!

  5. March 10, 2010 5:41 pm

    Wanna know something loco? Of course you do.

    At school this weekend, I sat next to this girl who’s the bartender at Spice Market! It reminded me that I reeeeallly need to try it! And now you’ve reminded me again!

Leave a Reply

