Skip to content

The Girl Who Doesn’t Like Salad

March 8, 2010

Ohhhh haaayyy!  No I haven’t forgotten you – and in fact I quite miss you all – but I’ve just been running all over the place and haven’t had much time for blog reading today.  Tomorrow morning over breakfast I play catchup!

Last night the boyfriend took me to dinner and then to Alice and Wonderland.  I had a great salad with cuke, avocado, tomato, lettuce, and mozz.  He had…fish’n’chips.  He told me he wants to eat healthier then asked, “Which is healthier, fish’n’chips, or pizza?”  One step at a time.  So over dinner I treated him to a Q and A about healthy fats and carbs, and balancing fat/protein/carbs in a whole foods diet as part of a healthy lifestyle.  Dear Blog World: Thanks to you, my boyfriend thinks I am a nutritional genius.

Oh, I LOOOOVED Alice in Wonderland!  Helena Bonham Carter is everything I could have ever wished for in a Red Queen, and Johnny Depp steals my heart every time.  I loved it.  So much.  Lewis Carroll is a personal idol, since I am a linguistic nerd, and it suddenly struck me that Depp is a modern-day film version of Carroll – all his tounge-twisting, linguistically correct gibberish is simply astounding.  Yes I said I was a nerd.

Sooo…here’s some pictures of some things I ate.

Lunch today was spaghetti squash with my version of “vegan vodka sauce” – marinara+tehina mixed together tastes EXACTLY like vodka sauce!  Multiply the above shown serving of spagh squash by like three and you’ll have an idea of how much I ate.  On the side was this organic D’Anjou pear that was just alright.  But ohh the fiber.  Good lunch.

Snackmonster was in effect all afternoon, and I had this:

Yeah, that’s a plastic spoon of peanut butter with chocolate chips on top, melted in the microwave.  Multiply this by like a thousand and you’ll have a good idea of what I did this afternoon.

Pilates tonight was killer.  Everyone in the class tonight is at an advanced-ish level (I don’t consider myself advanced but my teachers consider me skilled enough..), so Elena, tonight’s instructor, did a lot of more involved work.  I was shaking and sweating by the end and it was awesome.  We did a bunch of shoulder stands, and as I sit here breathing I feel my abs and lats burning, and I’m quite thrilled.

Dinner is:

I’m The Girl Who Doesn’t Like Salad, and this is my second salad in two days.  Keep this up and I’ll consider relinquishing the title.

Salad closeup:

Deets: Romaine, organic sprouts, brussels sprouts, avocado, carrots, salsa, hummus.  Yum.

On the side:

Grapefruit!  Did you know grapefruit have magical healing powers?  Well…they do.  Because…I said so!  They’re also super cheap at all my local groceries right now, like 3 for a dollar, but I can only carry so many at once, so I’m making frequent trips to the store to get them lately.  Mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmm grapefruit I love you.

Sorry this post is kind of dull!  I’ve actually got something interesting to write about …tomorrow.

I hope today was a great Monday for you!  It was for me 🙂  Love good starts to the week!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:28 pm

    i love a good salad- filling, delicious & nutritious 🙂 but virtually impossible fo rme to fit into my current meal plan..i still manage it, but can you say- tons of sides?! haha oh well. one day i’ll be normal again 😛

    xoxoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  2. March 8, 2010 11:37 pm

    i will definitely take your word on the magical powers! ive been eating citrus fruits like crazy too and had a pear. great minds think alike.

  3. March 9, 2010 12:55 am

    All your eats look fab. Spaghetti squash, I think I miss you!!! Haha. BTW boys and nutrition, why must it be so difficult!!! Mine does well, until he is out with other boys…..then its all over….Glad you are feeling better!!

    XOXO

  4. March 9, 2010 1:25 am

    i love salad enough for like 5 people haha. i want to see the movie!

  5. March 9, 2010 11:49 am

    I love, love love salads! Yours look delish, I love trying new combos. My BF’s mom is super into health, so he already knows most of what I tell him. Of course, getting him to actually eat the stuff is a little harder! Have a great day!

  6. March 9, 2010 12:21 pm

    Before you know it you’ll be the girl who LOVES salads! Hello awesome vodka sauce! Love it when random combos turn out to be something great.

    Oh, and this is not a dull post at all! I wrote about my daughter’s visit to the dentist so anything else is just fascinating to me!

Trackbacks

  1. Imperfection! « Love, La

Leave a Reply

