Skip to content

I smell spring

March 9, 2010

Sup peeps.  Was today SPRING by you?  Because it was SIXTY DEGREES here!  Amazing!  I really really really hope spring is here to last.   It SMELLS like spring, there are crocuses around, and gosh darn it, the sky is just so damn blue.  Please oh pretty please, Spring, won’t you stay?

I went outside to play with my kitty and attempted a photoshoot, but she hasn’t quite learned how to pose yet.

Neither have I.

But clearly, sixty degree weather calls for something special.  Hmm…what is that something special?  Oh yeah!  Time to break out the orange Tory Burch flats 🙂

Yeahhh baby look at them thick thighs.

So after lunch today I kind of ate half of a box of Puffins, which means I’m never buying them again (lies).  Met up with Stephen for some frolicking and some planning, ate some fruit and some chocolate, then jetted off to Pilates.  There’s a new chick who showed up at my studio last night and she’s REALLY GOOD and now it makes me want to be even better.  Who knew I was competitive?  I know it’s not about winning but I’m the class model the teachers use and I want to keep it that way!  😛  That said, I’m concentrating really hard so class left me sweaty and awesome.

After class I picked up a Refresh tea from Starbucks:

and also a bag of dried mango by Peeled:

Not bad.  I needed something to refuel with and to hold me over while I went to my friend’s house to watch Lost before I came home for dinner.

Dinner was SPESHUL PLANZ.  I acquired some basil over the weekend and kept forgetting to use it, but slightly wilted unattractive basil makes for some g-reeeat pesto.  I shot a Tweet over to Jess today wondering if she knew any good pesto recipes, was denied, so I turned to my culinary demi-god, Mark Bittman, for help.  Yes, I am the proud owner of How To Cook Everything, a birthday acquisition from my mother.   I am also the proud owner of How To Cook Everything Vegetarian, a Chanukkah gift from my father.

I absolutely adore both of these books.  Not only are they great for quick inspiration, but they’re chock-full of information, ideas, and creativity.  They’re not just cookbooks, they’re pleasure reading articles for me.  Love. Love. Love.  Get it, now.

So of course, I was thrilled to see How To Cook Everything Vegetarian had an entire SECTION on pestos.

And I was even MORE thrilled when I saw that Bittman’s recipe for classic pesto described the parmasean component as “optional,” and Bittman further elaborates that he “often omit[s] it because basil, simply pureed with oil and nuts, is already so good.”  Hell yeah.

So I based my recipe off of his with the addition of lemon juice, to mimic the sharpness of the cheese.  My pesto is as follows:

  • 1 bunch, roughly 2 cups, fresh basil
  • 2-3 tbsp pine nuts
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 clove garlic
  • juice of 1/2 lemon, freshly squeezed
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

So the basil didn’t look gorgeous, but it smelled absolutely divine.  To-die-for.

I always have pine-nuts on hand because I keep them in a zip-lock baggie in the freezer.  I just pull em out and use them for whatever I like.

It’s one of the few organized things I’ve ever done in my life.

In my food processor, I pulsed together the basil, the pine nuts, the garlic, the salt, the lemon juice, and about half the oil.  I had to scrape down the edges a few times.  I pulsed until everything was kind of chunky and broken up.

Then I turned the processor on and slowly drizzled in a stream of olive oil, a few more tablespoons, until the mixture became smooth.  Then I put it all in a jar and tossed it in the fridge.  It definitely tastes better given some time to allow the flavors to meld together.

For dinner, I made a big plate of spaghetti squash and topped it half with my “vodka sauce” of marinara+tehina, and half with my pesto, and a side of awesome steamed asparagus.

On a serious spaghetti squash kick lately.  This tasted AMAZING.  I went back for seconds and am considering thirds.

Today was a fab day, and I am about ready for bed.  My Google reader currently has 261 unread posts… Fingers crossed it doesn’t reach 300 by tomorrow morning.  I’m slowly getting through my back reading!  I have a script I need to learn by Friday but I’d rather read blogs.  No big deal.

Sweet dreams, blog lovelies.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 11:13 pm

    i almost bought that cookbook at the used bookstore near my place, i’ll have to go back and check if it’s still there! aw your kitty! and your flats 🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 11:38 pm

    It’s a really, really, really great book – so thorough, detailed, and informative. The first time I opened it, I opened to an entire section on OILS – the different kinds, the various uses, cooking temps, which can substitute for eachother, charts, graphs, recipes… I feel like I could read this book cover to cover a hundred times and learn so many new things each time. If you can find it, I really recommend it!

  3. March 10, 2010 12:06 am

    those flats are so cute. we were having good weather aka skirt weather then it snowed on us and will continue to snow. sucks.

    i saw that cookbook at the bookstore and i almost picked it up.

  4. March 10, 2010 8:12 am

    The weather yesterday was GORGEOUS, and today is supposed to be just as nice! Loving the Tory Burch flats…I have a pair in black, and I have to say I like the orange better! Have a great day love!

  5. March 10, 2010 12:11 pm

    Denied!! hahhahahaaa… It’s true!

    That does look fabulous!! I must try! Thanks for the inspiration girl!!

    xo
    Jess

Trackbacks

  1. Imperfection! « Love, La

Leave a Reply

