Skip to content

Learning curve

March 9, 2010

Lesson learned this morning: Cinnamon and my French press do not mix.  I tried adding cinnamon into my coffee grounds to spice up my morning cup of coffee, but the cinnamon got all gunked up in the press and caused a massive explosion.  But I didn’t learn the first time…or the second time.  No, I tried the experiment three times, just to be sure.  And the three loads of laundry I’ve already run this morning to avoid staining every shirt I own are my punishment from not learning from my mistakes.  So, now, I’ve learned.

Well, moving forward from the Great French Press Explosion 2010… Here’s some stuff I picked up at the health food store last night.

Puffins Original (cute company!), Jocolat bars, Larabars, mini Maya Gold chocolate bars, Almond Breeze (since they were out of Pacific brand),  Ezekiel Cinnamon Rasin cereal (never tried before…looks interesting), Imagine Organic Creamy Tomato soup (favorite!), and MoistStic lip balm.

Missing from the picture: One Jocolat bar (mint) and one mini Maya Gold bar.  Seriously, have not seen a large Maya gold bar in months, but I spied these last night and grabbed them up.  Um, let’s see how long they last in my house.  I picked up the Puffins because I’ve seen them on other blogs and because I really liked their message, but I’ve eaten more than half the box soooooo … yeah, this is why I don’t buy cereal (what a lie, I always buy cereal and then eat the whole box in under two days and reprimand myself and remind myself not to buy cereal next time…and I always buy it again.  It’s a vicious cycle).

So, the lip balm.  I really really liked the label:

And I like it fine, I guess.  Honestly, I love the idea of lip balm but I always forget I don’t actually like it!  I fully believe that if you use lip balm/chap stic/whatever when your lips aren’t chapped, you cause your lips to be chapped, because the balm replaces the natural moisture in your lips with whatever moisture is in the product.  I’ll probably give this to my boyfriend, who is a lip balm addict.

Recently, I’ve been tracking what I eat.  A few months ago I started doing it using SparkPeople.com‘s food tracker, but I got really bogged down with the calorie and nutrient breakdown and within a few weeks I gave up using it because it was only making me crazy.  If you’re not dealing with calorie issues like I was then, I would recommend the site though!

See, my problem with writing down everything I eat is that I judge myself when I see what I’ve eaten that day!  I’m unhappy with the fact that there have been days in my past where all I’ve eaten is chocolate, and I couldn’t stand actually committing that to paper, because it seemed like an admission of my faults.

But then sometime recently, I decided to just do it.  To just write down everything I eat, objectively, and not sweat it.  I figured I’d do this for a few weeks and then after a while look through my notes and see what my patterns are and make conscious changes.

I carry around this little Moleskine notebook and pen with me everywhere:

What I’ve noticed is, since writing everything down keeps me accountable, it makes me WANT to eat healthier so that when I look back in the book, I’m happy with what I see rather than upset with myself.

Here is a sample view of one day (yesterday):

The night before, I like to plan out what I’m going to eat the next day on the left side, in pencil.  I also like to write out a few “to do” items for the day that I’m worried I’ll forget to do (like pay bills!), and possibly some shopping items.  During the day, I check off my to-do items and add more, as well as list whatever I’ve purchased that day (see my groceries above?).  On the right side, I simply write down everything I ate.  Sometimes I write down the time with it, sometimes I forget to.  Sometimes I also write little notes to myself, like hearts next to things I ate or smiley faces when I ate too much chocolate, to remind myself it’s not a big deal.

I haven’t gotten to the point of examination and conscious change yet, but I’m pretty happy with where this is going for now!  I’m using the book as a method of setting a weekly goal for myself as well.  A few weeks ago it was “eat breakfast every day,” which has become a part of my routine now, and this week it is “eat salads every day.”  I intend to set a weekly yoga goal for myself also- learn and master one pose per week.  This week it is half moon.

I know I could use the blog for such things but as of yet I’m not 100% comfortable posting every single thing I eat on the blog.  Maybe one week, that will be a goal.  Like…next month though.  Haha.

Anywho, in keeping with this week’s goal, lunch today was a salad.  The components were very similar to last night’s dinner:

Since the salsa jar was almost empty, I mixed up a dressing with equal parts salsa and tehina, and the juice of half of one lime.  It was AWESOME.  Must get more salsa now.

Alrighty, I’m off to read more blogs then work on a project I’m pretty excited about…deets to come!

Some questions for ya’ll:

Do you track your food with a journal? If so, why did you start? Has it affected how you eat?  If not, is there a reason?

and

What’s your go-to salad combo?

Thanks!  I’ll be back later, I think!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 1:45 pm

    i tried a food tracker once but that one also required all the calorie counts and nutrients and it drove me insane because most of my meals are homecooked and i honestly dont know how to really get the nutritional facts for what i make at home.

    i like your journal way better. no calorie counting no fuss.

  2. March 9, 2010 5:22 pm

    I just had some Ezekiel cereal in my oatmeal- I love it! Food journaling reminds me of the ED days when I was obsessed with tracking everything on my FitDay account. Ugh. Not for me, but I’m glad it’s positive for you!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 9, 2010 5:48 pm

    i think the journal is a good idea as long as it doesn’t become too obsessive. You know how that is- and I used to track every morsel I ate and it drove me INSANE. Instead of listening in class, I woudl sometimes (embarassingly) find myself writing down what I ate and kidn fo obsessing over it… obviously, i’m not saying you’ll do this,b ut be careful! Though i do lOVE that you are doing it to get away from calorie counting 🙂 that is awesome.. calorie counting pretty much sucks haha. Love your grocery buys- never ahd the jocalat larabar-any good? you’re a beautiful person ❤ your comments mean so much to me. have an AMAZING rest of your week

    xoxoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. March 9, 2010 6:38 pm

    i track my food online at the daily plate, but it’s a habit i really need to kick. there is nothing intuitive about obsessively tracking my eats, i’ve gotta stop! i love puffins 🙂 bummer about the cinnamon!

    • March 10, 2010 8:53 am

      OMG I’m an idiot – Daily Plate is the website I used too. Hahaha I don’t know where I came up with SparkPeople. Yeaah, that website can get a little crazy – it’s just so easy because it’s got that whole food database. It’s slightly awesome but slightly awful at the same time.

Leave a Reply

