Skip to content

What does $11 look like?

March 11, 2010

BEFORE YOU PROCEED YOU MUST WATCH THIS VIDEO!!! RIGHT NOWWWWW!!!!!!!

Gaga’s new video “Telephone” – it rivals “Thriller,” I promise.  It’s worth the nine minutes.  This is entirely the highlight of my day (potentially of my week).

Ok you’ve watched it?  Okay good, moving on to my post…

Ah, another sunny and gorgeous day in New York!  I was compelled to put on a skirt because of how nice the weather was.

This morning I woke up, and even though oatmeal was on my plan, I really just wasn’t in the mood for it.  So instead I made a green(ish) smoothie:

Blended together: 1 banana, frozen blueberries, frozen spinach, ground flax seed, almond milk, cinnamon, water to blend.

And of course, coffee.  Next time I make a green smoothie, I’ll make it bigger or bulk it up with a bit more protein and fiber because I was snackish all day, unlike yesterday when I ate oats for breakfast.

In the afternoon, I went grocery shopping with Stephen and dropped eleven bucks on all this beautiful produce:

Well, the jar of Newman’s salsa you see peering out I bought at another store, and cost $5, which is absurd in light of how much I spent at the grocery store to get all those fruits and veg’s!  Next time, I’m totally going to make my own instead.  Take that, processed foods!

In the above picture, you see:

  • 3 grapefruits (3/$1)
  • 2 lemons, 2 limes (4/$1)
  • 2 cucumbers (2/$1)
  • 3 yams (59 cents/lb, cost me $1.04)
  • bag of carrots (2/$1, I bought one, meaning it cost fifty cents)
  • bananas
  • gala apples
  • Newman’s Medium Salsa

I’m a happy girl 🙂

At home, I mixed up a gargantuan salad for two:

In the salad bowl mix: Romaine, organic sprouts, avocado, carrots, and cucumber.  The dressing is half tehina, half salsa, and the juice of half a lime.

For two, with a side of perfectly juice organic D’Anjou pears.

This is my favorite homemade dressing currently.  Could eat it every day.  Might.

Pears are at least as magical as grapefruit.  Most fruit is magical to me.  I don’t know if I’ve ever met a fruit I didn’t like (yes I even liked durian).

Dessert was this Jocolat espresso bar, shared:

I picked these up a few days ago because I’ve never tried them before but I’m a fan of Larabars.  I also bought the Mint one.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the mint – the problem with using extracts as flavoring in raw/uncooked desserts is that the taste of the alcohol can come through and I didn’t really love that.  I liked this one MUCH BETTER – the mix of nuts, chocolate, and coffee is pretty much amazing.  Of course, I can make this on my own at home, so next time, I’ll do that.

Stephen and I are working on a project together and it’s fun being creative with my best friend.  Step one is called Teach Me How To Dance.  It’s comedic, to say the least.

Snacked on fruit with PB, like this (and other stuff I forgot to take pictures of):

I also grabbed a grande soy latte before Pilates.  I don’t consume a lot of soy, but every now and then a grande soy latte is a good pre-Pilates treat and snack.  I resolve it for myself by saying that the protein/fat/carb content are a great pre-work out fuel up, and the caffeine gives me the perfect little kick.  This is a big change for myself from just a few months ago when I was consuming 2-3 of these per day and trying to convince myself they constituted adequate meals.

After Pilates I made a quick stop at the health food store – I was really craving a frozen treat.  And then I quickly spent eleven dollars on this:

Wow, the difference between this eleven dollars and my earlier eleven dollars is astounding.  I think I’m going to try to stick to as many whole, unpackaged foods as I can from now on because my budget just can’t take it.  But I needed peanut butter and these waffles looked so cute, I couldn’t pass them up.  Plus, they’re vegan.  Convenience food?  Sure.  (Rationalizing it for myself….BAD!)

I really like planning out my meals now.  It gives me something to look forward to.  And today when I got out of Pilates, I was looking forward to this:

On the blurry and colorful dinner plate: Spaghetti squash a la faux vodka – I mixed marinara with tehina and homemade pesto sauce for an Italian-ish flavor profile; steamed beets atop steamed beet greens (wow these are awesome); asparagus, and carrots.  I added a big blob of hummus after I took the picture, for dippage.  And I went back for several more helpings of asparagus and carrots.

Dessert:

I don’t LOVE So Delicious coconut products because they feel a little overprocessed to me, but I do REALLY REALLY like them.  And I really really like the chocolate+coconut flavor of these little bars.  It kinda irks me that it says “70 CALORIES” on the box like it’s a diet food and one of the product’s merits, but I guess in our calorie-fearing society, this is an effective marketing ploy.

Thanks for the advice about my ankle earlier!  I’m still bruised and swollen but I’m taking it easy.  Really I just want to be able to wear high heels by this weekend but I don’t think that’s happening.

I’m off to pack up a lunch for tomorrow, read blogs, and then go to bed.  I have a really early day (for me).  It’s also a big and kind of exciting day!  I’m filming a promotional video for an educational program all day, and I’m really looking forward to it.  No, I’m not an actress or a model of any kind, although I have taken acting classes for fun my whole life and have been in plays before, and did some amateur modeling as a child.  Honestly I kind of fell into this gig by accident but it pays and it sounds interesting so I’ll take it!

I might be disappearing from my blog for a few days, since I have a full day tomorrow, then it’s Shabbat, then I have plans on Saturday night, and then work on Sunday, but I’ll try to stop by and catch up with you all at some point!  But if I don’t get to post or read your blogs or talk to you until next week, HAVE AN AMAZING WEEKEND!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 2:52 am

    “I’m going to try to stick to as many whole, unpackaged foods as I can from now on because my budget just can’t take it. “–
    amen.

    Girl. Stay outta WFs. I rarely go there; i do blogger meetups there, i dont shop there. I shop reg groc store, it’s not organic but it’s fresh. It’s fine by me. I would rather have a boatload of non organic produce than 3 things that are.
    and prepackaged foods…unless they were sent to me, i dont buy them, ever. Between food intolerances, crap ingredients, and budget, no way.

    Chocolate laras
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2009/11/5-minute-3-ingredient-dark-chocolate.html
    use this recipe
    and add any extract you want to customize them…youre in like flynn baby!

    • March 12, 2010 6:33 am

      Wise words!! Thank goodness Whole Foods is a trek and a half that I’m absolutely unwilling to make. My roommate loves Trader Joe’s and buys mostly organic but right now I’m completely okay with conventional produce – hello eleven bucks for all conventional produce above!

      And yesssss I’m definitely going to use that recipe!! Thank you!

  2. March 12, 2010 9:28 am

    I can’t believe you got all that produce for 11$! Way to go, girl!! A lot of people don’t like Jocalats, but I think they’re delish, too!

  3. March 12, 2010 4:08 pm

    That video = genius. GENIUS.

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:40 pm

    i hope you have an amazing weekend! i’ve never tried jocalats, but i think i’d really like them 🙂 thats amazing you got all the fruits n veggies for a good pricee.

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. March 12, 2010 10:51 pm

    so glad you listed out the cost of all that fresh produce, it’s important for people to see that you really CAN eat whole nutritious foods on a budget! oh and want to know a trick? if you scoop out the core of the apple with a metal tablespoon (you know, the measuring kind) it will make a perfect little crevice for your nut butter!

  6. March 14, 2010 1:40 am

    I love the idea of a spaghetti squash/vodka sauce! and I’ve been meaning to try coffee in my smoothies. looks savory.

  7. March 14, 2010 11:04 pm

    You jinxed us!! haha It’s been gross and rainy in NYC every since…blahhh! I’m so impressed you got all that produce for so cheap!! You go girl : )

Leave a Reply

