Skip to content

Rainy day lazy

March 14, 2010

Confession: Thursday night I thought I had big plans for the weekend.  When I woke up on Friday morning to a disgusting rainy weekend forecast, I immediately began to rethink things!

On Friday I woke up at the buttcrack of dawn to be in Manhattan for a full-day filming.  I got hired to narrate a promotional video for a graduate degree program in Visual Rehabilitation Therapy/Occupation and Mobility training – basically, a master’s training program for those who work with the blind.

It was a really interesting experience for me.  I was the only hired “talent” on set – all the others being filmed were legit professionals in the field, either graduates from the program or otherwise involved in the curriculum and training.  Most of the day was honestly spent sitting in a conference room, me reviewing my script and the rest just talking.  And it was really cool – it must have been a cool experience for them too – because as they all sat around the table catching up, they all were discussing clients, telling both success and horror stories, bouncing ideas off of each other for how to treat new clients (one man is currently working with a student who is both blind and autistic), and just essentially supporting each other.   I highly doubt my future is in VRT, but it was inspiring for me to see that people who have been working in the field longer than I have been alive are still passionate about their career and their life choices.  I have no idea what I want to do with my life right now (well, I have a vague idea) and one of my biggest fears is choosing a life where I will be miserable and will eventually come to regret what I have chosen for myself.  Apparently it is possible to choose a life that, twenty and thirty years down the line, you are still passionate about.  Thank goodness.

I packed a Victoria’s Secret-bagged lunch for myself, just in case the lunch they provided was chock full of dairy or meat.

In the lunch: Sliced cucumber, sliced carrots, 1/4 avocado, 1 Dr Kracker Spelt seeded flatbread, 1 clementine, 1 apple, 1 grapefruit, Pecan Pie Larabar.  I ate everything except the grapefruit and a few carrot sticks, but the person facilitating the shoot also ordered salads and sandwiches from a nearby place, and the salad was dressing free, FULL OF BEETS and dark leafy greens, and the little bit of dairy in it was easily removed, so I chowed down on that too.  I didn’t take a picture but I was very excited about the beets.

Saturday was a day of rest and relaxation.  I was going to go out Saturday night but it was pouring rain and my idea of a good time last night did not include pounding music in a Guido-packed club (I try to keep my life as Jersey Shore-free as possible).  Mostly I ate a lot of cereal and peanut butter and chocolate (and at one point combined the three in an epic and unphotographed bowl of chocolate peanut butter oatmeal), but I also had this amazing dinner of leftovers:

Leftover spaghetti squash, leftover roasted asparagus, leftover steamed beets, with “vodka sauce.”

I added a lot more sauce after this picture was taken.  I get really excited when my plate is colorful like this.  I also ate the whole grapefruit, because it was so damn good.

Instead of being angry at myself for yesterday’s chocolate-and-fat-fest, I decided (as I was digging into a jar of peanut butter with a spoon) that I’ll use Sunday as a clean-eating day to kick off the week and to detox a bit from OD’ing on the chocolate and PB.  Really, I should have never put peanut butter and chocolate together in the microwave.  It’s so good it’s dangerous.  But…well…it’s awesome.  Really and truly AWESOME.

So on today’s monster cleaner-eating plan:

  • Breakfast-Green monster!! Banana, frozen blueberries, frozen spinach, almond milk, ground flax seed, water to blend
  • Snacks- fruit+pb, or a Larabar (or both..)
  • Lunch- salad MONSTER – romaine, sprouts, carrots, avocado, salsa+tehina+lime dressing (I know it seems like I eat this a lot but it’s really good and I make salads out of what I have on hand, which happens to be all these things)
  • another snack at some point, probably whichever I didn’t eat from the morning
  • dinner- dependent on whether or not I go grocery shopping today, but there are definitely beets and beet greens and peas in the offing.  I’m really craving green things right now.

On a personal note (like this whole blog isn’t just one long personal note?), I’ve really been making an effort to eat at least three whole meals a day for the past two weeks, despite personal fears and hangups over gaining weight.  What I discovered has been shocking to me.  I don’t weigh myself, never have, doubt I ever will routinely, but my body feels different.  Over the past two weeks, I have been building muscle like I never have before.  At all times, my body feels hard, toned all over, instead of soft and slightly flabby like it has been for quite a while (re: since I quit singing).  I really can only attribute this to my consciously clean and full diet.  I really hope I can keep this up, because I honestly feel so much better than I have in a very long time and I really like it.

So…I’m off to make that green smoothie, catch up on blogs, and then take care of some householdy stuff.  I decided to skip Pilates this morning, and I’m glad I did because as soon as I made the decision to play hooky, thunder started rolling (effectively making all three of my cats panic) and upon gazing out my window, I spied torrents of rain.  No thank you.

So, some questions for ya’ll:

What time do you normally wake up? On Friday when I rolled out of bed at 6:30am, groaning and complaining to my cats (yes, I am that girl), I felt like I was awake at some sacred and forbidden hour when no one else in the world can possibly be awake.  Of course, once I got out into the world and on public transit, I realized just how many other people were actually up right then.  I guess five years of refusing to take a class before eleven AM will do that to you…

What is your FAVORITE FRUIT?? This is honestly a really tough question for me, because I’ve never met a fruit I didn’t like!  I can’t even decide upon an answer.

and finally

Did you watch Lady Gaga’s new video yet????? (Haha JK…actually not JK at all). If you haven’t, CLICK HERE and be ready for an eyegasm of epic proportions!  And OMG they just announced that Lady Gaga will be doing an episode of Glee in the future.  Really, they’re just trying to kill me with happiness this week.

Ummm……..yeah.  I’m crazy.  I’ll stop now.  Off to your blog!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 11:52 am

    That giveaway you won is so sweet!! Funny how popular beanie babies were… I be the creator is living the life on a beach somewhere beautiful now! 🙂

    Wake up time – 7ish… , favorite fruit… mango 100%
    I haven’t seen the video yet…. maybe I should!! 🙂

    ps. that grapefruit looks AMAZING!! 🙂

  2. March 14, 2010 12:12 pm

    I wake up at the crack of dawn, literally. Today I woke up at 5am and couldn’t get back to sleep. So I went to the gym. Figured I’d be productive!

    My favorite fruit is grapes. I love the red seedless ones the best.

    I am loving the Balmain’s! I hardly know you at all but I can totally see them on you. They are absolutely your style!

  3. March 14, 2010 12:42 pm

    Yum – nothing like a delicious smoothie!

    It’s a rainy day for me, too.

    I don’t wake up super early. I’m not an early bird. 😉

    Favorite fruit? Hmmm…. I’d have to say frozen blueberries. Delish!

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 14, 2010 2:24 pm

    some times lazy days are the perfect thing! and i really like your attitude about hte eating- u enjoyed osem good eats, and today you’ll eat ‘healthier’ but no big!! congrats on being hired for that video- sounds like a good experience and with some good eats 🙂
    Hope you are enjoying your Sunday!!
    & I wake up around 8:30 on the weekdays and as late as i cannn on the weekends haha

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. March 14, 2010 3:47 pm

    I love that you did voice over and were talent on a set! I have been on sets before and have been the talent and it’s such a cool thing to work on commercials, movies, etc. I was actually in the movie A Walk to Remember. Long story, but I was the poster girl that Mandy Moore’s character was sort of blackmailed with. The movie is almost 10 yrs old, not sure if you ever saw it but that’s my brush with fame. And yes, always good to pack a sack lunch in sit’s like this!

    • March 14, 2010 5:30 pm

      Nooooo wayy!!! I must be the only girl in the entire world who hasn’t seen A Walk To Remember but now I totally have a reason to watch! That’s so cool!

  6. March 14, 2010 5:03 pm

    have you ever had durian? that is a contender for a fruit you won’t like lol. i want to buy a grapefruit spoon but i’m scared i’ll cut my tongue on it, haha!! awesome thing you did narrating that video, what a cool experience.

    • March 14, 2010 5:36 pm

      When I was in Thailand, the Thai family we were staying with took us to try durian and mangosteen on the street one day. All the Thais gathered around to see our reaction – apparently “farang” (foreigners) were rare in this province so it was funny and exciting for them. My travel buddy hated the taste of it, but honestly I didn’t mind it! My palate read it kind of like a potato but kind of sweeter, not like a sweet potato but a potato that is sweet if it makes any sense? You’re right, I probably wouldn’t choose it as my FIRST choice fruit, especially after I smelled what the trunk smelled like after it was shut in there for a half hour, but I ate it for lunch when my friend wouldn’t touch it at all. Now, mangosteen on the other hand…worth dying for.

  7. March 14, 2010 8:40 pm

    You should also never introduce a banana to chocolate and let them mingle in the freezer. The results are rather frightening. If frightening is eating the whole thing in two minutes flat. Who am I kidding, more like 45 seconds!!

    Love all your eats….that grapefruit reminds me of one I met at the grocery store one day. I brought him home and he has lived in my crisper ever since…

    Man I am in a weird mood…I blame the bananas and chocolate…..

    Off to use some of this “energy” towards my lack of blogging here lately!!!

    XOXO

Leave a Reply

